1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Test of GRAW running with and without physX

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Things change I've changed, Apr 28, 2006.

  1. Things change I've changed

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 27, 2005

    Posts: 12,000

    Location: The Orion Spur

    ummmmm, not that happy really :( ,

    Without PPU : Take note of FPS

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    With PPU :

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    10-16 FPS slower with hardware PPU, I guess I need another GPU (SLI) to help render the added debris and effects I get from using the PPU, the price of PC gaming just went up again :-(, I can't believe that I have to disable the hardware physX card I just paid 200 quid for so that I can play GRAW at an acceptable FPS, tbh I just feel like giving up on PC gaming these days.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2006
  2. spookywillow

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 3, 2006

    Posts: 3,235

    Location: Atcham, Shropshire

    what settings are you running and how did you get AA to work?

    its a bit crap that you get less fps
    ________
    Honda FSC600
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  3. n3x

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 2, 2005

    Posts: 958

    Location: Surrey

    That does suck abit to be honest but i guess it was to be expected, although the physics in graw arnt all that spectacular are they?? Imagine whats gonna be needed when even more complicated physics are used? :eek:

    Hopefully they will be able to optimise it in the future but it doesnt look good does it.

    Those graphics dont even look all that good either, i would have thought u'd get higher fps even without the ppu :confused:
     
  4. King_Boru

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 9, 2005

    Posts: 2,356

    Location: Canada

    Really need to know what settings your running at to predict the low FPS.

    But it is very early days in the PPU world.
     
  5. Metalface Mark

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 26, 2005

    Posts: 15,075

    Location: Paisley

    Seems a bit strange though to spend £200 on a phsyx card when you dont already have the current top card?

    Its not a dig at you btw.
     
  6. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 25, 2005

    Posts: 13,780

    A 7800GTX isn't top-end? The way I see it, it's not the razor-edge of technology, but it's still top-end and should be just fine for running a PhysX card if these things cost £200.

    So, what... It's expected to pay £200 for a PhysX card and £400 for a 7900GTX to play games these days? £800 if one isn't good enough and you need to go SLi? That's £1000 on graphics alone, it's utter rubbish to be honest.

    PhysX is a joke, and I hope nobody buys it.
     
  7. TLJester1

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2004

    Posts: 211

    Location: Canterbury - Kent

    I think its worth noting that the extra physics in those screens are for eye-candy explosions. Hopefully games will really use the PhysX PPU for physics that are integral to the game ie that CellFactor demo, where its doing loads of boxes/objects that are a perminant fixture to that map, and not just a spot effect.
    ... well i *HOPE* thats what they get used for. Probably find they wont as it will then limit the game to only those with PPU's thus cutting potential customers.
     
  8. Killajaz

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 13, 2004

    Posts: 1,368

    Location: Sweden&NYC

    Blatant con from the developers and manufacturers. I said it before and I say it again: If the game developers wheren't so lazy and coded the games properly you would still be fine with an ancient card like Geforce 2 GTS or similar.


    They are conning us. Get used to it. DONT BUY THE latest high end cards. IT IS A CON ;)
     
  9. SteveOBHave

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 31, 2006

    Posts: 6,588

    Location: Sydney Australia

    Cheers for the 'real world' test. Very interesting to see...

    Fair comment would be that it's probably the implimentation of GRAW rather than a failing of the PPU. Early days yet.

    It really does look like they added more 'bits' for the physics to play with rather than acutally re-modeling the interaction. Looks like it has been a marketing ploy - sell the game because it uses PhysX...
     
  10. skiba

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 27, 2004

    Posts: 2,955

    Location: Singapore ExPat

    just get a 360 and be done with it :p I have no interest in PC gaming anymore except maybe for RPG's
     
  11. snow patrol

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 3,874

    Location: London

    so AA definitely does work in the full version then?
     
  12. Metalface Mark

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 26, 2005

    Posts: 15,075

    Location: Paisley


    your absolutely right, it is a joke, I got Fifa 2006 through the post today, thinking the pc one would be on a par with the videos from the xbox 360, i should have spent the extra tenner, as the pc version looks like a port from the ps2, ill be buying all my games for the 360 in future.
     
  13. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 13, 2006

    Posts: 1,114

    Hehe, just as I predicted in another thread...communication between the PPU and GPU would just plain suck. I see the way forward as an all in one solution, such as soon to be used HavokFX on the graphics cards...which seems (in theory) better supported, because it is running on the graphics card and probably will not hinder the frames per second.

    Well it's all "theory" at the moment, but it does not look like a great start for PPU's such as PhysX.
     
  14. Noxis

    Banned

    Joined: Jul 26, 2003

    Posts: 6,348

    Location: Surrey

    Erm... just erm.... :confused:

    The lower FPS is purely caused by the graphics card having to render more, the physx card just allows for more objects with realistic interaction. Nothing to do with "communication between the PPU and GPU".
     
  15. Arcane

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 19, 2005

    Posts: 3,556

    Location: Ealing, London

    Lowrider, frame rate aside, does it look much better with the PPU enabled? Screen shots don't ever do these things justice.
     
  16. Plasmoid

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 305

    Location: Leixlip, Ireland

    Yeh... they just tacked on some extra eye candy for those that owned the PPU.

    If they had bothered to give you the option of doing everything in software then you would see a boost.

    Hopefully developers will begin attempting offloading physics calculations to the PPU rather then inventing things to do when a PPU is available.
     
  17. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 13, 2006

    Posts: 1,114


    Go to the PhysX website and learn how the PPU interacts between the GPU and CPU.

    Graphics card companies have not made their cards to adapt to the way PhysX works. Rather that PhysX has made their cards to work as well as possible with the graphics cards.

    If game developers start relying on PPU hardware to do calculations for "physics effects" it could be a problem for them to know how well the interaction will work with the graphics cards.


    --
    Unfortunately in lowriders instance there could be a problem with either the game not working to well with PhysX or the graphics card not communicating well with the PPU.
     
  18. sOLId sPOnGe

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 7, 2005

    Posts: 42

    Location: Macclesfiled

    Yeh I've read about that in this months CustomPC. Nvidia are to release this with on one of their driver updates (not sure when though?). If you're running SLI, one card will run the physics and the other card for the graphics.
     
  19. Dutch Guy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 24,563

    Location: Amsterdam,The Netherlands

    Maybe it needs more optimising?

    I can't believe it would give you a decrease in fps, the PhysX card should handle the extra calcualtions so in theory it should be 'free' extra IQ, shouldn't it :confused:
     
  20. Things change I've changed

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 27, 2005

    Posts: 12,000

    Location: The Orion Spur

    Thats pretty much the same thing that I was thinking,

    16 X AF
    No AA (Unhappy chappy about this, really hope this is fixed in the full version)
    1280x1024
    All settings on Max


    I would of normally went straight out and brought the latested gfx card but I've decided to wait for the next gen this time and also with conroe just around the corner I'm hoping that will give a fair boost when I upgrade.

    tbh it looks exactly same with the PPU as it does without it, the only difference is you get the extra blocks/debris, the strange thing is these extra blocks/debris seem to appear unrealistictly out of no where when you shot things like the wall, floor etc, it really is like they've just been tacked on just to say *this game supports physX*.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2006