1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Peltiers anyone use them ?

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by easyrider, Jan 7, 2007.

  1. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,187

    Location: Autonomy

    Was looking at maybe using one.What are peoples thoughts on them?

    Thanks

    Post any pics to please if you have any.Or tips or info.I'm not that clued up on them.

    Thanks

    Easy
     
  2. drak3

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 26, 2006

    Posts: 1,509

    From reading I know that coolitsystems sell the Freezone cooler which uses them.

    seen reviews claiming it can keep C2D 6400 @ 3.2Ghz 43C on load.
     
  3. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,855

    Location: New Eltham, London

    No longer really justified to be honest. Water alone will do very well and phase change will do way better than a peltier. The expense and hassle of TECs really isn't worth it.
     
  4. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,187

    Location: Autonomy


    Why the hassle?

    expense I can get a 320w peltier and two copper cold plates for 32 quid.Surely I should give it a try?

    please explain?
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  5. beast

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2004

    Posts: 909

    What's a peltier? isn't it something to do with curtains? linkage!
     
  6. w3bbo

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2005

    Posts: 10,663

    Location: Up North

    Give it a go...£32 aint alot for an experiment ;)
     
  7. Brum Man

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 30, 2004

    Posts: 3,032

    Until he loses his GFX/CPU to condesation :p

    Also what PSU do you have, as you may need a seperate one to effectively run all you other stuff (which looks like you have a lot), and run the pelt?
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  8. ns400r

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 23, 2004

    Posts: 3,573

    Location: UK, Near the middle......

  9. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,187

    Location: Autonomy


    620w Enermax liberty
     
  10. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    From what I've heard they're known to be horrendously inefficient and will probably munch their way through electricity, but it might be worth a shot. I'd just go the whole hog on phase though instead of bothering with a TEC though personally
     
  11. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,187

    Location: Autonomy

    Yes have been looking into phase too.

    However its 500 big ones!
     
  12. trojan698

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 21, 2005

    Posts: 5,484

    Location: Edinburgh

    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  13. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 1, 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    You'd be much better off getting a custom made Phase unit, rather than getting pelts or a Mach2/Vapochill. You can get some pretty cheap custom units that will perform much better than the Mach2/Vapochill and it will be tuned to your setup. Pelts do look fun, but also seem to be quite a hassle and not very efficient. If your going to the effort of insulating the CPU area, you might as well go real cold and get phase tbh. :)
     
  14. WJA96

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 13, 2005

    Posts: 14,746

    Location: Norfolk, South Scotland

    I don't see the point of a lot this stuff (phase, peltiers). It's very, very extreme for the potential benefits and I don't think the risk outweighs the benefits.
     
  15. Marci

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 8, 2003

    Posts: 486

    Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire

    A PC PSU cannot provide the ampage, and it's very rare that it'd have 320w going spare to devote to the pelt.

    Head here: http://extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

    Stick in your complete rig specs, then subtract the total it comes out with and take that off your Enermax PSUs total wattage. What do you have left...? If there isn't at least 240w left, then you'll need to use a separate external 12>14v PSU... thus the expense. These alone cost £100+ (eg: Meanwell s320-12)

    Note, that's only considering the wattage. According to Enermax, their 620w PSU provides 22amps per 12v rail - http://www.enermaxusa.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=21_45&products_id=82_

    Yes, it can provide 44amps in total, but you can't combine the 2x 12v rails to use their power. So at most you have 22amps going begging. At the least, you have about 5 amps going begging due to consumption of the rest of your PC.

    Now lets look at specs of Pelt. (http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=67927&page=2)

    320w TEC requires 14v and 26 amps for a start to allow it to do 320w worth of work. With a 12v PSU, it'll be shifting 235w and require 22amps free on your 12v rail of your PSU.

    So, does your current PSU either provide/have going spare 320 watts, 14v and 26amps, or 235 watts, 12v and 22amps? If not, soon as you hook it up and turn it on, the PSU will likely pop.

    Going off specs, your PSU has 22amps on it's 12v rail total. Once you're PC is running, the majority of this 22amps is taken up by the PC... there isn't enough ampage left to run the pelt. Your PC PSU will most definitely emit a loud bang and release the magic smoke within a few minutes of turning it on with the pelt hooked up... so you'll DEFINITELY need a separate PSU.

    Now, look at heatload. You have the 320w heatload of the TEC, an average 20w from your pump. That's 340w of heat, without even considering the heatload of your CPU and GPUs. If we use a Core2DUO e6600 oc'd to 3.4Ghz and an NV8800GTX for example, then you need to add roughly another 309w... so that's a total heatload of 629w that you'd need to cool.

    Reference the graph below for a ThermoChill PA120.3 radiator...

    [​IMG]

    As this graph shows, to cool 629w of heat will require a liquid flow rate of at least 5lpm, with 3x Panaflo-H 120mm fans at 12v emitting 48dba of noise EACH to maintain equilibrium long term and keep coolant temps within 10 degrees of room temp.

    £100 for PSU + £32 for pelts n' coldplates + the value of the rest of your watercooling rig... then add cost of neoprene and dielectric grease. Now compare that total to the price of 2ndhand modded phasechange, which will get you on average at LEAST 50 degrees colder than the 320w TEC setup, with MUCH less noise (usually a max of 38dBA from the fans, x2, + compressor vibrational noise).

    Now decide if heading down the TEC route is worth it or not...
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2007
  16. Messiah Khan

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 1, 2005

    Posts: 10,000

    Location: Scottish Highlands

    Great post Marci. :)
     
  17. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,187

    Location: Autonomy


    Yes superb!

    Thanks Marci cleared alot up for me there.

    :)
     
  18. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 4,233

    Location: In dem hills

    Phasechange is also alot of bother, my mach2 GT broke.. not to mention it was fiddly.

    overall i wouldnt bother unless u want urs to break aswell like 5 months later for no apparent reason.
     
  19. OC_A64

    Hitman

    Joined: May 3, 2006

    Posts: 614

    Location: Leeds

    Custom phase doesn't have to be expensive, depends on what you want really. Decent head (ie chilly, kayl etc) is a LOT easier to fit, the stock Mach kit's are a right pain to get mounted though - agree with that! Can mount a chilly1 evap in ~ 2 mins, with pretty much perfect contact every time. Insulation took ~ 20 mins to sort on the P5B and don't get a drop of condensation. Ever.
     
  20. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 39,187

    Location: Autonomy

    Can I have some pics please? :)