Project: Garage Office/Workshop Thread

Soldato
I'm gonna use this as a bit of a project thread. Mainly for me to keep a log of it, but thought a few on here would enjoy reading through it.
I have little DIY knowledge so all of this is a bit of a learning curve for me. I work full time and have hobbies/kids so finding time to do it is difficult!

The aim is to build a Office/Workshop room in the back half of my garage and insulate it. Working in a single skin block garage in the winter is ruddy cold, so I want to improve it and make it a much nicer place to be.

When lockdown hit, I had a perfectly useable spare room I could use. Within a couple of months that quickly changed as my oldest daughter needed her own room and the youngest was transitioning from Moses Basket in our room to the youngest's room. Annoyingly, there wasn't anywhere else in the house I could setup a workstation and not be bothered by noise or be in the way, etc. So my only option was to move into the garage.

Initially I just put everything on my workbench and stood at the desk. This was OK for a few days, but quickly got old uncomfortable when doing 8+ hour days at it:

y4mZAH06nF2CAjoQ3vIQL2jbRxWQS4U2pSDAwXDiXcCWSY_KtzlYE6PLv5uGx46TPs0-7czY3C0fZXiQpLMxKPqJmg6RhykBQrQtlVa0YTmzionvVZ9WqR5BFpSdHKFB_aOd52da-60i2Cs6f2bRCSpuHk19dg6Z62b6TKVFGBR6YsQwbL4x1eWNQx0PM6qe0WA

IMG_20200503_183429.jpg

As you can see, there is very little space and lots of stuff in there. So the next stage was to start sorting through everything, selling what I could and scrapping the rest to make room for a better setup. I then moved onto version 2, which was much more comfortable. I essentially made room for my desk and chair to go. I also spent £20 on some second hand carpet tiles so I didn't wreck my wheel chairs.

y4mxnw6APnFzO6CZbzRBni1YJuOkHl-BDzfys8Og3G_DYE9TRUlRF-hSYBBvgRL3SngDp2Ff3tI2MLz0rY6sx3NfwTxYinKdUmOY15xLI7qI1E89EL4gENQ__cUi7m9Hgsz_jNphlPYHb7aJ02ES0VGKzL4D4gPTTnETJggIc9bZY4G0rFk7M3KSUPuhICJxhOz