Project Ignorant Bliss

Soldato
Hi Guys,

I thought I would share my new build, and look forward to going through the overclocking guides on here.

I have built a couple of PCs in the past (nothing special mind you, fairly basic) but it's probably about 13-14 years since I last built one... So I'm as good as a total newbie.

I have designed and built myself a fancy man cave in the garden, and I needed a PC to run my CNC machine. I've been a mac man the last few years and while I do love my rMBP it's not much cop for that sort of thing...

Of course I then thought that if i'm buying a new PC, why not just go the full hog get a decent one that I can use for everything and get back into gaming a bit. That then led me down the path of doing my own build again, and so here I am! The PC is generally going to be an all purpose workhorse and used for CNC control, Gaming, 3D modelling/rendering, and a little photo/video editing.

So the specs I ended up going with:

Skylake i7 6700k
Asus Sabertooth Z170 Mk1
Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz (8gb x 2)
2 x EVGA Hydrocopper 980Ti
Intel 480gb 730 series SSD
Corsair RM1000x PSU
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 full copper 360mm Radiator
XPSC 140mm Radiator
Alphacool 13/10mm fittings
Monsoon 13/10mm acrylic tube
Primochill CTR phase II reservoir
Alphacool Laing d5 vario pump
Bitspower 90 degree rotary fittings
Mayhem's Ice White coolant.

And I decided to pop that in a Phanteks Enthoo Evolv ATX case because I think it's gorgeous!

In hindsight I would have gone with a samsung 950 pro M2 stick instead of the intel drive, but remember that ignorant newbie part - I didn't even know what m2 was, and now it's too late... I'll probably upgrade at some point in the semi-distant future.

Anyhow, most of that arrived and I did what any self respecting man would do - made a mess of the living room floor.

Y0KCRnq.jpg

On with the build!

Soldato
OP