Project: ケイ - Watercooled Threadripper

Kei

Kei

Soldato
I have been running this system since 2009, most recent changes were the CM690 case, an HD6950 and a xonar essence ST which were done in november 2011.

My system Specs are,

Case: Coolermaster CM-690 II Lite

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P

Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE C2, Overclocked to 3.7GHz

Ram: 12GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz / Kingston HyperX Genesis 1600MHz

Graphics card: Sapphire HD6950 Toxic

Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence ST Deluxe

PSU: Corsair TX650V2

SSD / HDD's: 128GB Crucial M4, 640GB WD Blue, 500GB Seagate barracuda, 250GB WD, 200GB Samsung, 80GB WD, 74GB WD Raptor

CPU cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems + Scythe S-Flex 1600rpm

Other Bits: Enermax 2x2 fan controller, LG BD-RW, 2xs coolermaster 120mm fans, 120mm akasa amber fan, 120mm deepcool fan, 140mm BeQuiet Silentwings

Sealed up
IMG_0950_zpsfb50aafc.jpg

Inside
gallery_44179_303_367165.jpg

I've always run all of my systems on air cooling for the last 15 years, swapping both gpu and cpu coolers out for zalman & thermalright. For a change i left the standard gpu cooler in place as things like the accelero and MK-26 were getting quite expensive and extremely big. These are the temperatures i have been enduring.

Idle
IdleTemps_zpse6b4403f.jpg

Load
LoadTemps_zpsb0aab955.jpg

Apart from it running very warm, it's also quite noisy, particularly the gpu cooler. The watercooling plan aims to reduce the temperatures significantly whilst also making the system much quieter. Future plan will be to add a single radiator or two where i can squeeze them in.

I've cobbled together a parts list ready to buy this weekend. Sadly due to budgetary constraints, fancy compression fittings and angle adaptors are out. (much as i'd like them)

YOUR BASKET
1 x XSPC D5 Vario (Body + Screwring) £56.99
1 x EK-Supremacy - CPU Waterblock - Copper Plexi £51.98
1 x **B Grade** Aqua Computer AquaGrATIx - HD 6970 Typ2 Water Block £49.98