1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radeon VII

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by DragonQ, Jan 9, 2019.

  1. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 30,786

    Location: OcUK HQ

    The games cost AMD less than $10, so no they can't drop the price £100 because the games cost nowhere near that.

    So if they were to drop a $700 card to $690, sales would be no change.
    But bundle in a load of games with an RRP of $150 which people may have considered going out to be buy and all of a sudden it has a dramatic effect on their sales. :)
     
  2. pete910

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,479

    I know that AMD will be paying peanuts for them, I was pointing out to Nasher that some would rather have a reduced price rather than games. I was using his 100 as an example
     
  3. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,099

    Location: PA, USA

    Bear in mind we canno get the same price as AMD, so don't just assume ten pounds.
     
  4. bigmike20vt

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 23, 2006

    Posts: 1,687

    Games bundles are a nice sweatener and i definitely see them as a plus point ... But I would disagree with saying they add £130 value onto the game.
    Also NV offer 2 games with their high end cards don't they?.
    The comments about the shroud blow my mind, honestly with that and the claims that lowering voltage and upping the core speed is apparently an absolute give so much that comparison benchmarks by some comparing to NV is showing the card in such a way.

    I have to ask who the hell is designing the final bits of these things and should they be retrained or replaced?.

    IF a 3d printer can improve the shroud then the original design is not fit for purpose and should have never made it out.
    IF under volting is an absolute given and improves performance as much as some say then the stock bios is not fit for purpose and should never have made it out... Esp as it makes the card look worse than it really is. Double ESP as AMD should have learned from Vega 64.

    Or am I missing something ?

    That said I am reticent to believe "X over clocking to Y is a given after I bought a gtx 980 which would not OC at all
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2019
  5. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 327

    Location: Mondas

    It does beggar belief that AMD would release a product that can be improved by Herbert's like us tweaking away. But I tell you this. I love getting better performance for a few minutes tweakage. :D
     
  6. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 30,995

    Location: Ireland

    Just about any gpu can be improved by the end user, slapping an aio on cards generally lets it clock higher for example.
     
  7. hyperseven

    Soldato

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 6,146

    Location: M28

     
  8. Tom B

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 20, 2007

    Posts: 741

    @Gibbo do you know when the Sapphire cards are going to be back in stock? Also, are they OK with cooler removal? If not, which brand would you recommend if I'm planning to get a water block.
     
  9. Vish Petrol

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 16, 2016

    Posts: 642

    Location: Rubber Dinghy Rapids Broo

    I am also interested in whether it would be covered with Sapphire.
     
  10. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 30,786

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Still waiting in feedback from Sapphire/AMD.

    We’re expexting 40 Powercolor cards in 7-10 days.
     
  11. Vish Petrol

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 16, 2016

    Posts: 642

    Location: Rubber Dinghy Rapids Broo

    Thanks :D
     
  12. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 30,786

    Location: OcUK HQ

    70 incoming from sapphire, eta end of next week. :)
     
  13. Vish Petrol

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 16, 2016

    Posts: 642

    Location: Rubber Dinghy Rapids Broo

    Any idea on the cooler removal/waterblock application?
     
  14. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,551

    Location: Knowhere

    Great news for everyone waiting, It's a shame you couldn't get the Powercolor chaps to extend the warranty to match everyone else's.
     
  15. eeii

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 3, 2017

    Posts: 327

    Location: Mondas

  16. Tom B

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 20, 2007

    Posts: 741

    I'm also interested in this and buying the VII as soon as I can get a block.
     
  17. skline00

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 24, 2015

    Posts: 7

    Bykski just announced a waterblock for the Radeon VII shipping after 3-25-19.
     
  18. Vish Petrol

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 16, 2016

    Posts: 642

    Location: Rubber Dinghy Rapids Broo

    If I were to purchase a waterblock, would I have to setup a custom loop for it? Is it possible to connect it to an AIO?
     
  19. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,743

    The vast majority of AIOs don't support any expansion of the loop, but there are a handful that do, such as the Alphacool Eisbaer 360.
     
  20. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 3,915

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Considering that most AIOs are not expandable, and those few that are probably use Aluminium radiators, I would say there's no point and just get a proper loop. If you're going to have multiple radiators in your case from CPU and GPU AIOs with all the tubing involved, then just do it properly in the first place.