1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung 860 Evo SSD latest firmware?

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by IggyStooge, Nov 9, 2018.

  1. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    Hello,

    Magician doesn't work on my system so I can't easily check for latest firmware. I tried finding it via google to no avail. I have version RVT02B6Q currently.

    Can anyone tell me if this is the latest available firmware version please?

    Thanks very much.
     
  2. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 17,106

    Location: London

    Why does Magician not work?
     
  3. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    It installs and works but does not recognise the 860 Evo correctly so isn't much use really. I contacted Samsung and they suggested numerous things to get it to recognise the SSD but nothing worked. Fortunately I installed Magician on an older system and when I connect the SSD to that system it recognises OK. I was hoping not to have to take the SSD out of this PC just to check if I have the latest firmware.
     
  4. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 17,106

    Location: London

    You can check what firmware it's using through device manager.

    Located your device in the device manager go to the details tab and one of the drop downs might contain the firmware version.

    At least that's what's visible for my Crucial SSD.

    When I turn it on I'll have a closer loo to see which drop down it is.
     
  5. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    I couldn't find it where you suggested. Can you let me know please if you find it?
     
  6. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    I've just read that it should be under Hardware IDs in details but I don't see anything like the firmware version on the Evo 860. Won't this only tell me the version I have currently anyway? I need to know if it's the latest version.
     
  7. opethdisciple

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 18, 2010

    Posts: 17,106

    Location: London

    Maybe Samsung doesn't show it there. On my crucial I could see the firmware.

    You need to figure out why the magician software doesn't recognise your SSD.

    Have you tried a clean install of windows?
     
  8. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    I've tried on clean installs of windows with various versions of Magician as they've been released. I'm on an old system no doubt but Magician works on an even older system I've got.
     
  9. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    I found the email from Samsung when I asked them for help. They said:

    Please be informed that the model ID of your SSD is not correctly displayed.
    Please refer to the display below:
    - Correct model ID : Samsung SSD 850 EVO 250GB
    - Wrong model ID : SSD 850 EVO 250G (This is how it's identified on my system)

    The Suggested:

    Please attempt the following solutions:
    1. update IRST/Asmedia/Marvell driver to latest version
    2. uninstall IRST/Asmedia/Marvell driver and use MS windows standard driver
    3. Mount SSD on other SATA port if possible
    4. After changing SATA model from IDE to AHCI and re-install OS again, Mount SSD at other port.
     
  10. ScoTTyBEEE

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 1, 2004

    Posts: 1,742

    Location: London

    [​IMG]
     
  11. IggyStooge

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2004

    Posts: 685

    Location: Somewhere, in a field in cheshire... alright!

    Thanks for that ScottyBee. I need to update then. Mine isn't the M.2 version but I assume it will have the same firmware?