1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sennheiser HD650 - The classic beauty in a grey dress Appreciation thread!

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by Ryanr1987, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2004

    Posts: 4,213

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    Well my balanced cable has turned up for my hd650.. Immediate improvement in sound. The hdvd 800 amp needs some serious running in tho. My Graham slee srg11 gives it a run for its money atm and that's 1/4 of the price. But that has had a good few years use tho lol.
     
  2. Girder

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 6, 2011

    Posts: 40

    Treated myself to a pair of HD579 for a cracking price. However, I just read they come with a 6.5mm cable instead of 3.5mm. Does anyone know if it can be replaced with a 3.5-3.5 or is it actually a 2.5mm cable that connects into the headphones? If that's the case Ill have to hunt around for a 2.5-3.5??
     
  3. rids57

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 25, 2012

    Posts: 5,853

    Location: Ankh Morpork

    according to Amazon...

     
  4. Girder

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 6, 2011

    Posts: 40

    my days, ive never owned headphones this expensive, I'm not even running them through an amp. what a treat to my ears!!
     
  5. PapaLazaru

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 23, 2009

    Posts: 16,960

    It's a slippery slope from now onwards :D
     
  6. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 10,118

    Headphones take a 2.5mm jack. You can get replacement cables that are made for the headphones with a 3.5mm end rather than 6.35mm. Not sure if a standard 2.5mm to 3.5mm cable would fit, as Sennheiser use a kind of twist lock moulding on the 2.5mm casing. A standard cable will possibly need a slim casing.

    Some of the other HD5** models include a 2.5mm to 3.5mm cable, albeit 1.2m. HD579 just have 2.5mm to 6.35mm 3m cable.


    [rant aimed at Sennheiser]

    I have no idea why Sennheiser still use a fixed 6.35mm jack plug and a 6.35mm to 3.5mm adaptor. It's a stupid idea for such headphones. The adaptor adds weight and bulk to a 3.5mm jack plug that is not as strong as 6.35mm.

    The vast majority of users I'm sure will use the headphones with a device that has a 3.5mm connection, not 6.35mm.

    They aren't studio headphones and they don't need a headphone amp, so Sennheiser can't point to those two as reasons for including a 6.35mm jack plug.

    My HD600's are sold as monitoring headphones, need a headphone amp and are more likely to be used with amps or devices that have 6.35mm socket, yet they have a 3.5mm jack plug and come a 3.5mm to 6.35mm adaptor. :/

    Ass-backwards?

    [/rant]
     
  7. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2004

    Posts: 4,213

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    You could buy custom cable with the adaptor you want. If looking to upgrade the basic stock cable in the box.
     
  8. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 56,296

    I'm not a fan of the extra connection it adds but the 3.5mm to 6.35mm on my 600s is pretty neat - so well integrated it is no bigger than a regular 6.35mm plug.

    I use customised cables instead however partly to minimize number of connections.
     
  9. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 16,767

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    i bought my son a cheap pair of headphones for christmas that have a 3.5mm socket on one cup and 6.35mm on the other. The cable itself is reversable with a 3.5mm on one end and 6.35mm on the other, so you can just reverse the cable and plug it in to the other cup if you want to switch from one size to the other. I thought that was pretty neat, especially on a pair of 25 quid headphones. Makes me wonder why this isn't a more common feature.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  10. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2004

    Posts: 4,213

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    Anyone had experience with sennheiser repair centre? Paid to have my 12 year old HD 600 fixed that had been in a drawer for years They are completely knackered. Will they fix or replace them with newer model ?
     
  11. iGiDK

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 3, 2006

    Posts: 957

    Location: Falkirk, Scotland

    Massdrop 6xx arrived today. Straight out of the box = absolutely delighted. Can't wait to hear these connected to my schiit stack!

    Ended up with a pair of hifiman he-400i a few weeks ago but I decided to return them as they weren't for me.
     
  12. hobib_ali

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 26, 2010

    Posts: 936

    hmmm what can I say, the Amirons, considering also they are more expensive than the 650s, they are very sensitive, meaning any absolute how ever minor it is is picked up, for example if I hot swap the 650s vs the Amirons, the Amiron sounds more detailed, sounds as if it has more volume on the headphones even though both cans are connected to my ZXR at 40% I would say the Amirons are more for critical listening, especially hi res FLAC DSD lossless music, I would prefer my 650s on watching a movie than the Amirons, the ZXR has more than enough juice to run them beautifully, Also connected to my Apogee Groove DAC it sounds Amazing

    Oh and when I compare the DT990s vs Amirons also big difference to, I use to love listening to the 990s now ive got the Amirons the 990s arent used.
     
  13. hobib_ali

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 26, 2010

    Posts: 936

    ive mentioned somthing on the next thread
     
  14. danza

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 28, 2005

    Posts: 13,551

    Location: Drunken badger punching

    I'm running my black driver version 650s off a Lehmann BCL clone with a Musical Fidelity Director DAC. Sounds good, really good.
     
  15. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 10,118

    Depends on what is knackered. Assuming it's drivers and the padding (ear and headband), then they'll just replace those. If they are structurally knackered (frame), then I can't see them replacing the whole headphone for the paltry charge of £78? Unless the £78 is a minimum charge, depending on what is wrong with the headphones?
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2018
  16. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 56,296

    Was just digging in my drawer of audio cables for something and realised I've got way more of the 600/650 cables than I remember ever buying LOL. Also bought some of the OEM replacements ones for modding to various balanced configurations and must have accidentally doubled up on the order at some point forgetting I'd already done it.
     
  17. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2004

    Posts: 4,213

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    I had them back last week They basically replaced EVERYTHING. Only thing they missed on was the outside headgrills. After phoning up it seems the tech guy missed out on those. They are OOS atm, but mines in order and they will send them to me. Main cable looks abit poor tbh,, but I hadn't used them in years so can't remember. Practically a new hd600 for £78. Bargain.

    And even if the structure was broken they give you a new equivalent headphone. It's almost worth buying a knackered one for 30 quid lol
     
  18. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 10,118

    Wow. That is great value. Must admit I am rather surprised they replaced all that for £78, but it does make me question what looks to be ridiculous prices of the HD600/650, if they can just basically give you a new headphone for £78-£90.
     
  19. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 56,296

    The current prices are crazy - most time I look they are well north of £300 - way more than I paid for mine.

    EDIT: My last pair of 600s I paid £206 for - they are currently £309 with discount on Amazon, £370 direct from Sennheiser and £280 upwards from any reputable retailer.

    That level of service is basically what you pay for though with Sennheiser for those HD product lines.
     
  20. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 82,992

    Location: South Coast

    I've had the Dekoni memory foam pads for a while now and recently switched back to the stock pads just for kicks and to see if I could notice any difference.

    The stock pads definitely have a more open/spacial soundstage but produce what I'm now going to label as limiting bass. The memory foam ones produce richer and deeper bass where it matters most. The side-effect of this is that the soundstage is brought closer, so slightly less wide. This is the only difference I notice, and this isn't a bad thing either. It's not better, it's not worse, it's just different. I'd say it's like the difference between the Fidelio X2 now vs say the stock HD650s in terms of openness vs bass and soundstage direction.

    The upshot being the HD650s with these memory foam pads produce a wider soundstage than the X2 ever did and the bass is rich but more neutral whereas the X2s focused too much on deeper bass.

    I think these pads were a great investment, I've put them back on and enjoy the more musical intimacy with them, especially with acoustic and jazz music.


    As far as I'm concerned this combo for me is end game. I know I could get better if I spent more, but I really don't need better, I'm just enjoying this for pretty much everything. Perhaps the amp combo has something to do with this as well, but it's a great match for my taste and I can't see that changing for the foreseeable future!

    Just hoping that Sennheiser never stop servicing the 650s going forward :p