1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Siliconslave's how to make espresso thread

Discussion in 'La Cuisine' started by Siliconslave, Jun 17, 2008.

  1. Hedge

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,726

    Location: Up Norf 2 Daan Saaf

    Well I've been wanting a bean to cup machine for ages now but since getting an aero press I can't see much point.

    I use the inverted method. Let it sit for about 3 mins and get a great coffee every time. It's relegated my pod machine to a kitchen cupboard now.

    Doubt I'd see much benefit from a machine now.
     
  2. jpaul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,489

    ... like the aforementioned moka pot , it is a different religion :D

    Rave coffee will accept money from all religions though .. just got my order in before midnight deal cut-off
     
  3. Nick1881

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 4, 2007

    Posts: 8,670

    Location: Nuneaton, UK

    Same problem for me. Always fancied a proper machine, but I'm probably not home enough to use it. I have tea in the morning, then I'm on the road at work, then I don't want coffee in the evening as it will keep me awake.

    I buy 250g ground mocha java blend from Rave which normally lasts me a month, I know it's wrong. I have considered a grinder to improve things.

    For someone that knows nothing about making coffee beyond the Aeropress, how much trouble is a Sage BE for example, how fast could I make coffee and how often would it be need cleaning?

    I only drink americano with a splash of milk, no need for milk frothing.
     
  4. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 55,349

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    I make one to take to work with me, only 5 mins drive.

    Home for lunch, I'd make another one to take back to work.

    2 cups a day. 250G last me about a week. Only make Americano because i am too lazy to froth the milk as well.
     
  5. Siliconslave

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 11, 2002

    Posts: 9,354

    Location: The Flatlands

    I wouldn't bother with the doser tbh, it lets you grind a batch then store it in the doser until your ready to use it - for home use that makes no sense & is just another area to clean. For a shop you can afford to bulk grind as you'd use it up over a period.
     
  6. jpaul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,489

    for rocky but maybe mc2 is different, doser is not really a problem.
    I grind individually for doubles, a small brush helps make sure no grinds left in burrs (still needed even if doserless?)
    Doser may also help dump the coffee in a uniform distribution in pf, whereas doserless creates a mound ? (some folks use smart 3side tamper to help)
    Rocky takes 20-30s to grind for a double, so with a doser, do not have to stand there with pf waiting, can be running final shot to warm cup in the meantime, and then take pf and instantly fill it ... all about work flow ...

    I don't usually weigh - just 1.5scoops, I would like to find a 1.5 sized scoop.
     
  7. jpaul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,489

    what life-span have folks typically had from a portafilter gasket ?

    current HX machine is on for maybe 90mins a day and after 18months pf is becoming harder to lock in, and remove.
    Previously with Silvia I maybe changed every ~3 years. that had a flat gasket, but hx is conical.

    Ok, they are not so expensive, it is just the hassle of extracting them (now adopted wood screw technique) and having to drain the machine, to put it on its side, for access.
     
  8. TS7

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 16, 2010

    Posts: 2,336

    Location: East Mids

    So for first time I actually bothered to get the scales out and weigh the coffee I made along with the amount of milk I'm steaming. I started off with 11g of coffee, I knew this would be insufficient and it was confirmed by how quickly the espresso came out. Tried 14g the next time and that produced a wonderful shot with great crema BUT I got a massively uneven tamp. Going to try 15g next.

    If you end up with an even tamp is it ok 'untamp' it with a fork and have another go?
     
  9. jpaul

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 1,489

    generally does not work, and distribution just gets worse, pf may have some moisture in it too, impacting grinds at edge.
    why did you get uneven tamp ? may need a better strategy to drop the ground coffee into the pf .. via an intermediate conatiner ?
    edit : forgot - usually knock pf with heel of hand too, before applying tamper
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2017 at 11:06 AM


Share This Page