1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spec me a CCTV System

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by Sirrel Squirrel, Dec 28, 2013.

  1. maschio

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 25, 2014

    Posts: 158

    :) Fair play maybe next year then.....
     
  2. SexyGreyFox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 29, 2003

    Posts: 49,110

    This is the low quality video on the Blink XT2, I'm made up with it and let's face it, out of the 1000s of 'Can You Identify This Person' CCTV footage that comes up on Facebook or Newspaper sites that quality is way better than what you usually see - www.dmpoole.co.uk/mp3/blink1.mp4

    I also like how all the video goes straight to the cloud where my mate has paid a lot of money and all his go on an SD card.
     
  3. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,627

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Blink cameras are fantastic. But they're no good for live viewing which is what we wanted, the worst thing being the 10-15 seconds it takes to load the stream. Replaced them with Unifi cameras, can now ask Alexa to view a camera and it pops right up,which has massive WAF.
     
  4. b00merang69

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 365

    Ubiquiti prices are ridiculous (read the comments in the Big River place that sells them) though they are good you can buy profession gear for that or even less put me in mind of Apple where they are using the brand to jack prices.
     
  5. SexyGreyFox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 29, 2003

    Posts: 49,110

    AMAZON
     
  6. Firestar_3x

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 11, 2005

    Posts: 29,409

    Location: Leafy Cheshire

    Wonder if you power the Blink camera from USB instead of battery you avoid the delay?
     
  7. adwol48

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 25, 2008

    Posts: 754

    Location: Norwich

    watched a video the other day by bitwit on youtube he had uniquiti send him out like 5 cameras a switch and the cloud key2 and when he said it was a $2k system I couldn believe it, my ezviz cameras are more than good enough for my needs.
     
  8. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 3,593

    Hi,

    Are many people using Blue Iris instead of an NVR?

    My current set up consists of 6 "proper" CCTV cameras and 3 garden wildlife IP cameras...

    • 4 x Hikvision DS-2CD2335 - 2048*1536, 25FPS, H265, Highest Quality, Up to 3072Kbps - Full Time Recording
    • 2 x Hikvision DS-2CD2555 - 3072*2048, 20FPS, H265, Highest Quality, Up to 3072Kbps - Full Time Recording
    • 3 x Generic Wildlife Cam - 1920*1080, 25FPS, H265 - Record on Motion Only

    All of these are set to record direct to disk in Blue Iris and I don't think I have any hardware acceleration in use.

    Blue Iris is on my main PC with the following specs...

    Code:
    i7 3770 quad core @ 3.4ghz (Ivy Bridge / 3rd Gen)
    12GB DDR3 800Mhz
    2TB Seagate Barracuda Sata 3
    AMD HD 7800 1GB
    Win 10 Pro
    1000w

    This is the PC that I use for most other things so its not dedicated and I never really intended to keep BI on here for the long term as its also quite power hungry for 24/7 use. I've been given the following for free....

    Code:
    i3 4130 dual core @3.4ghz (Haswell / 4th Gen)
    8GB DDR3 800Mhz
    500GB Seagate Barracuda Sata 3
    Intel HD Built In Graphics
    Win 10 Pro
    240w

    This is quite a nice small form factor PC so I can hide it away somewhere and it should have lower power consumption. It does only have one drive bay though so I'd probably put in a 4 - 6 TB WD purple drive.

    Any thoughts on moving to this machine? Will the 4th gen i3 be too under powered?

    The Blue Iris website indicates that a 3rd gen i5 with 6gb is the suggested minimum for a small (6 camera) system and a 4th gen i5 or i7 with 8gb is recommended.

    So I think that the CPU is the weak point here, rest of the spec seems okay and the one drive bay is slightly limiting but of course the machine was free. The alternative will probably be to leave it where it is for now rather than spend out on another machine.

    Thanks for reading.

    TLDR: i3 4130 haswell for 9 direct to disk steams in blue iris - Y/N?
     
  9. Chaos

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 5,405

  10. Chris.

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2010

    Posts: 477

    It looks ok when you look at it like that, but in truth the quality is actually very poor.

    This is what people struggle with when it comes to CCTV, its not the static image quality that matters, its the recorded and ZOOMED quality.

    I generally find the following is a good rule of thumb for what you need quality wise, and some general proper CCTV advice:

    1080p/2MP - Decent area viewing for this car came in and moved here etc, don't need any specific detail. Maybe I just want to have an overview of the outside of the property.
    3/4MP - Residential security or where you can place the camera close to the subject without risk of damage. You will get decent detail when zoomed in but will probably struggle with Reg or defined facial detail.
    6MP to 4K - This is the footage that CPS wants, you can zoom into the image without needing PTZ (from recorded image and usually from your phone via hikconnect or DNS) and you will get the little details that matter to the investigation.

    You also need to consider that to get decent detail you can place a 6/8MP camera further away from a subject, hence out of damage range, where if you do this with a 2-3MP you will lose a lot of detail.

    As for FPS, 12 is more than enough for anyone unless your using tracking or facial ID software where the camera is moving the image constantly (or if you are in a shop and you need to get selection of items to detain shoplifters etc).

    Also don't bother with Varifocal as most applications need 2.8 especially in a domestic. If you are watching a specific door or gate and want a specific shot, or you may look at retasking a static camera every now and again, VF is great. Also Hikvision VF gives you remote zoom via the app with the IZS models which is a nice bonus.

    If you are mounting outside or in harsh conditions, or also where you are likely to get poor glare, also avoid the conventional domes and look for something like the DS2cd2ch range.
     
  11. SexyGreyFox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 29, 2003

    Posts: 49,110

    Say what you want but I'm in Benidorm and can clearly zoom in and see people's faces. At 3pm a Joiner turned up for 3 hours so I turned everything off until he went.
     
  12. Scream

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,609

    Location: The Darkside

    At the end of the day, if I was to compare your cams with a Dahua or Hikvision setup, yours wouldn’t come close. For starters, it would be useless at night which is always a priority. The point is, yes you can zoom in a see people’s faces clearly, but there are better cams available that can make you see the image even more clearer.

    Also, MP isn’t everything. 2MP Dahua Starlights have easily beaten 4K cams for image quality in numerous reviews. The sensor size is key.
     
  13. Bigpops

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 4,129

    Location: Sheffield, UK

    Indeed. I compared 2 (possibly 3) megapixel Hikvision cameras to Avigilon 5 megapixel units back in 2014, and hikvisions were noticeably better. The clarity just wasn't there on the Avigilons, no matter how much you messed with the supposedly auto focus. The Hik were razor sharp. Love Avigilon software, not a fan of the cameras, other than the PTZs where you can just drag a rectangle on the screen and it will turn and zoom to that selection. That never gets old.
     
  14. SexyGreyFox

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 29, 2003

    Posts: 49,110

    I hear what you're saying and I know you know what you're talking about but the pictures are every bit as good as 99% of cctv pictures shown on Crimewatch.
     
  15. krooton

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 9, 2004

    Posts: 25,357

    Location: Leafy outskirts of London

    Enhance!
     
  16. Psycho Sonny

    Suspended

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,920

    Lol crime watch uses garbage videos

    I have a nest hello doorbell and 4 dahua starlights. Total cost of everything installed probably £1k I got screwed on the labour install of the dahua gear as the guys were clueless. They ended up spending 3-5 additional hours due to their own incompetence but I had to pay for their time.

    It's not cheap for decent gear but they should literally never need upgrading so if they last 10 years it's only £100 per year or £2 per week.
     
  17. Thebug

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,853

    Location: Walsall

  18. Psycho Sonny

    Suspended

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,920

    i've been told unless you really need to. avoid updating firmware as much as possible. much more chance of something going wrong. if it works fine just leave it be.

    these things aren't as well supported as pc components are and the amount of time and money spent on support will likely be minimal as well.
     
  19. Kaka

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 11, 2004

    Posts: 1,327

    Location: Curitiba

    Those with a ColorVu DS-2CD2347G1-LU, I have a question on the supplement lighting. I see in the settings page for the light it can be set as 'Auto'. Does this mean it will function like a PIR light or does it mean it will turn on at dusk (or as defined in the sensitivity setting)?
     
  20. Thebug

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,853

    Location: Walsall

    it means it auto adjusts the light brightness to optimal brightness, i have mine on manual around 15 and is plenty bright enough

    the one underneath where it says led on is either timing or based on light levels

    if you want it off untick the box at the top where it says enable suppliment lighting