Taking a pay cut for a new title?

Consigliere
I am a Customer Service Manager for an online retail brand. It's a small business and currently on 42k. I want to leave as I am not enjoying the isolated atmosphere, the hiring strategy (constantly hiring remotely due to cost) and miss having 'work friends'.

I want to move into Account Management/Customer Success Manager however I don't fully have the experience to get this title so pondering moving to Account Executive or something more entry to 'get that title' and learn the actual role.

I know I can be good at this type of role due to my people skills/operational background but I guess it's proving it and my logic is, once I get that title it'll be easier to progress?

What do you all think? Mad to do this? I guess the other option is to persuade recruiters I can do it and hope someone takes a chance on me at a slightly more senior level.

Soldato
Moving to a job where you can do it all from day 1 is pointless for you anyway as it gives you no room to grow and learn. A company insisting on every box being ticked is going to lose people as they will get bored and move on.

IMO Taking a pay cut voluntarily is really only for when you want to do less hours or want to step back from high stress/responsibility roles to something easier.

Hold out for something at the very least matching what you're currently on.

Soldato
IMHO titles are pretty much meaningless these days. It's like when you see someone labeling themselves as a CEO but they run a 3 man company. I mean sure, I guess you are the executive of your company, but it doesn't quite have the same pull to it as being a CEO of say a FTSE 100 company.

The other one that makes me laugh at the company I work for, is when I see young developers who have graduated about 5 years ago, and are now displaying "Senior Software Developer" in their email signatures - they've not even made it into their thirties yet.