1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Driver Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. Matson

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 20, 2009

    Posts: 3,570

    Did we ever get a battlefront crossfire profile or did that just vanish into oblivion?
     
  2. pete910

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,774

    Galaxy far far away ....

    :o
     
  3. jimhaumman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 10, 2012

    Posts: 1,682

    Yes you right with that but I had this problem on windows 10 before crimson was out.(beginning of November).Windows 10 is still buggy.
     
  4. jimhaumman

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 10, 2012

    Posts: 1,682

    Which version do you have?
    I had this problem on 15.11.1 a now on 15.12 it stays on.
     
  5. 7stars

    Associate

    Joined: May 1, 2013

    Posts: 23

    I have a R9 290 and FO4 still has the "compass bug"... :D

    how much time they take to fix it? I don't want to overwrite files... :)

    what was the first Crimson release date and what day is today? :D
    is it acceptable for a game title like that?
     
  6. Finners

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,527

    15.12 on a fresh install on Win 10 :(
     
  7. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,486

    Location: The KOP

    Everything is running superb for me.. COD BO3 I was expecting bad performance.. I get great performance.
     
  8. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,449

    Location: PA, USA

    Trying to overclock the 380 now and the machine resets itself LMAO. Epic.

    Loving Crimson so far.
     
  9. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,486

    Location: The KOP

    Pushing it to far? A bad Overclock can crash the system.
     
  10. r7slayer

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 2, 2012

    Posts: 3,223

    You not overclocked before? Pushing components too hard can make the sytem restart! It can also crash the GPU driver this happens on both Amd and Nvidia btw. Its just how it is.
     
  11. Troezar

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 6, 2009

    Posts: 4,005

    Got 15.12 running and so far it seems good. In BF4 my PC seems a lot cooler it used to cook me with a 30°C room temperature! I have played around with some fans too and is also running a bit quieter.

    Any easy way to see if crossfire is running short of logging with a third party app and checking if both cards are being used? It's one thing to have crossfire enabled but I find it's not always using both cards. That of course could be just me :)
     
  12. Scougar

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 30, 2007

    Posts: 12,449

    Location: PA, USA

    I have overclocked since I overclocked an LG 80286 from 12 to 16Mhz, oh yeah.

    This card has already been to 1150Mhz and been fine. It's now colder weather, and upon applying an overclock from 990 to 1000mhz (10Mhz) it crashes the PC instantly upon applying it whilst still on the desktop (so not actually using it).

    It's a software problem, either Crimson or Afterburner. I have noticed that Afterburner is reporting the clocks on the slider as 1425 on the memory but then on the graph it says 1500, so something very odd is going on.

    TBH, things haven't seemed 'right' since I upgraded to Crimson. I am tempted to do a fresh install of windows to ensure everything of catalyst is gone.
     
  13. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,486

    Location: The KOP

    If its anything I using Crimson 15.12 and my stock 290 977 is running 1030/1250 no crash here..

    What happens if you install none Crimson drivers and try still crash?
     
  14. BluD

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 6, 2013

    Posts: 3,733

    Location: Yorkshire

    Could anyone help me installing these latest drivers, last driver update i just upgraded to the latest ones and they worked fine, but when i try and install them now from fresh they wont install.

    Ive done the usual uninstall with the drivers and AB then ran DDU. When the driver install gets to the part where it flashes black and sets the resolution its just staying black now, i left it for 10 mins just to make sure then reset and tried again two more times with the same result.

    Do i need to install the old drivers then upgrade again or there something im missing here?
     
  15. BluD

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 6, 2013

    Posts: 3,733

    Location: Yorkshire

    Nvm sussed it, i realised i still had a DVI cable plugged into the back of the card and while it was installing the drivers it was switching the signal to that for some reason. After i unplugged that it sent the signal back to my displays plugged into the display ports.
     
  16. Davanius

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 1,249

    I have just realized that rtss interferes with freesync with some games. Couldn't figure out why modern warfare 2 was tearing and I didn't know that the frtc had gone up in the crimson control panel.

    Now that I have solved it, modern warfare is so smooth I can't believe what I'm seeing.
     
  17. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 6,115

    is there any news on when they are going to fix the core clock bouncing issue?

    getting annoyed that I have to use third party software to get it working and then remember to toggle the option on and off when gaming
     
  18. Finners

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,527

    What games are you getting this on?

    Do you run an overclock through afterburner or similar?
     
  19. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 6,115

    I don't normally use AB etc but had to install them to make sure the core speeds are correct.

    I get this issue in any game I play, Killing floor 2, minecraft, counter strike global offensive and diablo 3.

    gpu is ran at stock speeds
     
  20. flowrider99

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 20, 2015

    Posts: 692

    Location: Hertfordshire

    From reading the above posts I guess it is best to avoid Crimson for now. What is the latest non Crimson driver release for the R9 380?

    Thanks