1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The AMD Driver Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by LtMatt, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. nutsnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 22, 2009

    Posts: 1,858

    Location: Birmingham

    Same here, not overly bother by it though.
     
  2. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 33,752


    I don't know exactly but much less than 1750Mhz, about 600? like the core clock its supposed to run in a low power idle mode, it did with the last drivers....
     
  3. Joe Jones

    Associate

    Joined: Dec 11, 2019

    Posts: 54

    Location: Cardiff

    5700's idle at 200Mhz.

    Mine got stuck once at 800Mhz on idle which increased power consumption a few watts and idle temp was a good couple C's higher. I think a driver reinstall resolved the issue.
     
  4. weldon855

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 21, 2013

    Posts: 823

    Location: Ild

    so the overclock profiles keep resetting with this latest driver? Another half baked effort....
     
  5. Bounce

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 22, 2011

    Posts: 1,415

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    im using 20.4.2 they seem the best ones imo
     
  6. nutsnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 22, 2009

    Posts: 1,858

    Location: Birmingham

    Nope, mine keeps its profiles. If your getting a notification saying settings have reset, they may not be considered stable under the new driver.
     
  7. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 11,140

    Location: On an Island Surrounded by Water

    Anyone know if it's possible to stream to a specific Facebook group using AMD's streaming options ?
     
  8. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,486

    Location: The KOP

    Yeah you will need the streaming key for the group and then do a custom stream from Radeon Software.
     
  9. Dicehunter

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2007

    Posts: 11,140

    Location: On an Island Surrounded by Water

    Gotcha thank you :)
     
  10. Jarrod

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 399

    overclock settings alwaaaays resetting every startup. useless.
     
  11. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 32,213

    Location: United Kingdom

    This would happen if the system was restarted unexpectedly or even if you pressed the restart button.

    That said, if the system is restarting cleanly and it happens, it could be a bug. Try disabling fast startup to see if that helps.

    Which driver are you using?
     
  12. Trick

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 7, 2003

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: York

    I found running MSI Afterburner would reset my clock and voltage settings, so I only run it if I want RTSS working. And this is with Afterburner set to not alter clocks or settings.
     
  13. Mr G

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 21, 2018

    Posts: 1,008

    Location: Caerphilly

    Have these drivers been fixed? Not updating from the recent WHQL drivers until I get the nod!
     
  14. MegaPinches

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 9, 2015

    Posts: 572

    Anyone else got a massive font on the driver UI now with the update. Cant find anyway to make it smaller?
     
  15. FredFlint

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 1, 2006

    Posts: 2,194

    After installing the Windows May Update games FPS has dropped from 59.8(with Vertical sync on, max is 60) to ~55.6fps with 20.5.1.
     
  16. Fyter

    Gangster

    Joined: May 25, 2012

    Posts: 119

    Playing warzone here, not sure but my gpu usage is not being fully utilized. After updating the game, display drivers and windows this has become common. Using an R9 390 8GB, 5820K @4.5GHz, 16GB RAM. Usage can be anywhere between 50s and 100s.

    Edit changed to latest most recent beta driver and the last 2 WHQL drivers and still similar issues. I guess it could be down to the game or the windows update.
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2020
  17. BigRazer93

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 24, 2009

    Posts: 2,819

    My 5700xt use to run always at 99-98%, see a lot of 97-98& now in warzone
     
  18. Mr G

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 21, 2018

    Posts: 1,008

    Location: Caerphilly

    Still on 20.2.2... is it safe to update?
     
  19. nutsnut

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 22, 2009

    Posts: 1,858

    Location: Birmingham

    I Would say so yes, i've been on them and they've been fine. I had issues with the 20.4.02 (my first ever black screens after years of AMD cards), so went back to 20.2.2.

    So far, the latest drivers have been just as stable as 20.2.2 and there has not been many complaints with the new ones on here, so looks to be pretty sound.
     
  20. Mr G

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 21, 2018

    Posts: 1,008

    Location: Caerphilly

    Awesome thanks for that will update later!

    I did experience a black screen on the 20.2.2 playing Transport Fever 2 though. Hitting the windows key and back to the game solved that for me.

    Although the trigger for this might of been Microsoft Edge? I left the browser open in the background... hasn't happened again since closing it down and then playing game.