1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poll: *** The official 2020 MacBook Air/13" MacBook Pro thread (it has the M1 chip and everything!) ***

Discussion in 'Apple Hardware' started by Feek, 10 Nov 2020.

?

What 2020 Apple Silicon notebook have you ordered?

  1. MacBook Air

    60 vote(s)
    69.0%
  2. 13" MacBook Pro

    27 vote(s)
    31.0%
  1. Spit

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 8 Nov 2003

    Posts: 6,743

    Location: Yorkshire

    Ah will leave it longer then.
     
  2. HACO

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,223

    I would get a Mac over an iPad, and I'm a heavy iPad user myself, but iPad OS is still not a true desktop OS at all.

    As for Intel vs AMD vs ARM, I generally agree that ARM-based chips will become very competitive in future years, but Intel and AMD will adapt too, and in a lot of ways, AMD is already adapting. Every Zen generation has brought significant improvements in performance per watt over the last, and I expect the trend to continue.
     
  3. Matrix

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,977

    Location: Leicester


    Looks cracking that !

    Very tempted to get one for my son for his homework he's using my 9/10 year old Dell XPS atm.

    I assume standard apps work ok on the Air sure i read somewhere a lot struggling with the M1 chip? He does a lot of coding with Unity so want him to continue in that and he's learning HTML etc . But it seems like a lot of high school work now is done on the computer etc and submitted ( gone are the days doing in the bus the next morning lol )
     
  4. HACO

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,223

    Coding with Unity could be an issue now with M1 (at least for a while), I would double check that before buying one of these macs.
     
  5. Throrik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,975

    Location: Manchester

    Interesting - looks like an xCode Decompression on these beats an iMac Pro, which I'm not too worried about, but the fact that someone on /r/Apple has said that whilst the current iMac Pro fan is loud on it, the M1 device is completely silent. The lack of fan noise thus far is huge for me. I'm hoping that external display(s) on the Mini don't have fan noise.
     
  6. chef-borjan

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 4 Aug 2014

    Posts: 1,072

    Setting mine up now! Buttery smooth, silent (obviously) and yes, can confirm it just gets gently warm.

    Only thing now I need to figure out is how to get Google File Stream working on Big Sur. Seems to be a big issue.
     
  7. b0rn2sk8

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Mar 2003

    Posts: 8,594

    For me it’s not quite as clear cut on the iPad vs MacBook. 99% of the SPs use these days is consumption and general browsing. The issue is that I quite like the touch screen and the full OS but I can’t get that on a Mac!

    The iPad Pro and magic keyboard is more expensive.
     
  8. HACO

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,223

    A14 was as fast as Ryzen 5950X (per core) in Anandtech's 401.bzip2 SPEC benchmark. So I believe that user if they had the baseline 10-core iMac Pro (which are quite a bit slower per core than the 5950X).

    I always say iPads are the ultimate web browsing machines, very convenient, touch, and Javascript performance is unbeatable. The new iPad Air would also be good if all you do is browsing and content consumption.
     
  9. fez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Aug 2008

    Posts: 17,006

    Location: Tunbridge Wells

    The battery life is always a bit of a funny one. I have the 16" MBP and I don't pay that much attention but I reckon that if I am doing anything particularly serious, I get maybe 2 hours of battery if I am lucky.
    How many displays can the mac mini run because the new M1 macbooks can only run one as far as I know. That is basically a killer for me as I use dual 4k monitors for work.
     
  10. Throrik

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Sep 2009

    Posts: 1,975

    Location: Manchester

    Two displays - which was the biggest one for me, as whilst I mostly use a single display I generally have two connected for those times where having a second one is really useful. One 4k and one 1440p so going back to a tiny 13" screen isn't what I am looking to do at the moment

    From the official tech specs:

    • One display with up to 6K resolution at 60Hz connected via Thunderbolt and one display with up to 4K resolution at 60Hz connected via HDMI 2.0
     
  11. HACO

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,223

    You'll be fine. M1 runs two displays, on laptops one is the integrated display and one external, or two external on Mac Mini. The only caveat is that one has to be HDMI and one usb-c or thunderbolt. So you can't do two HDMI or two thunderbolts.
     
  12. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 16 Jan 2003

    Posts: 9,429

    Location: Nottingham

    This is their first USB4 controller, I’m sure the number of displays will increase in following years.
     
  13. fez

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Aug 2008

    Posts: 17,006

    Location: Tunbridge Wells

    Cool. Definitely something worth thinking about for people getting the laptops if they can only run one external. I assume that doesn't change if you work in clamshell either?

    Oh for sure. I wouldn't be surprised if this was one of the big reasons they didn't put the M1 in anything more "pro" along with the lack of 32GB ram.
     
    Last edited: 17 Nov 2020
  14. TS7

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 2,551

    Location: East Mids

    MBP was delivered this morning. Just taken it out of the box and completed the initial set up. So far, so good!

    Question as a new Mac user; I'm getting the 'Updates Available - Do you want to install the updates now?' banner. Shall I update? (Asking as I know sometimes updates can be problematic and usually there's no going back!).
     
  15. HACO

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Oct 2009

    Posts: 2,223

    Lack of 32GB option is likely because of LPDDR4X availability right now (there were no reasonably-priced 16GB packages in the market until just now), not memory controller issues.

    Update to the latest version, you'll get 100MHz extra on the CPU :D

    Googling before updating is a good idea. It's very rare that Mac updates cause issues, I think Apple has only pulled updates once in the last few years (compared to several times a months for Windows) :D
     
  16. Pez

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 4,966

    Location: Warwickshire

    Go for it, shouldn't be an issue :)
     
  17. magicroundabout

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Apr 2008

    Posts: 3,164

    Location: West Midlands

    Speaking as a true windows user.
    Update and all will be ok and you'll never go back to windows again
     
  18. Spit

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 8 Nov 2003

    Posts: 6,743

    Location: Yorkshire

    What is interesting is I have been using it for 20 minutes, installing things, browsing etc and battery is still 100%. On my previous MBP within seconds off power you were down to 99%.
     
  19. TS7

    Mobster

    Joined: 16 Feb 2010

    Posts: 2,551

    Location: East Mids

    It seems the review embargo has lifted. Youtube is filling up with reviews. Just as I have a 2.30 meeting!
     
  20. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 232,985

    Location: In the radio shack

    They're all starting to hit now.

    She's still bonkers but she's calmed down in recent years. I still enjoy watching iJustine.