1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

***The Official Gran Turismo 5 Thread***

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by Streeteh, Apr 14, 2010.

  1. CGrieves

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 25, 2002

    Posts: 1,771

    Location: Clapham Junction

    Game and G27 both arrived today. Working from home, but I'm resisting playing until I've finished work stuff.
     
  2. theboyrob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 16, 2003

    Posts: 1,577

    Location: Halifax , UK

    mines just arrived :D
     
  3. mattbill

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 8, 2006

    Posts: 1,105

    Sounds spot on... ta folks :)
     
  4. R5GTT

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 19, 2005

    Posts: 911

    Just installed and had to laugh at the countdown timer going from 20 minutes to 10 minutes then 50 seconds but taking a further 10 minutes! :p
    The GT Logo came up like it was loading and then it just froze!! I quit the game and relaunched and all was well.


    Then I noticed another bug straight away!
    If you try the Spoon CR-Z on deep forest raceway (or maybe any other car or track for that matter? ) and look out the back window.... The sky/cloud map is reflecting on it or something and it looks horrible!


    Oh well, will have to wait till I get home and drive some proper cars and do some of the license tests.
     
  5. peterattheboro

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 24, 2005

    Posts: 19,917

    Location: Middlesbrough

    Why the hell do I need to create drivers?

    That's something PD should do for me!

    Ahh... B-Spec is that thing where the computer drives for you?
     
  6. Whappers

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 4,496

    Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland

    Yup.
     
  7. peterattheboro

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 24, 2005

    Posts: 19,917

    Location: Middlesbrough

    My first criticism... the standard model cars look really crap. I have no idea how PD can be happy with that, a company that strives on perfection :(
     
  8. Locke

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,612

    Location: Clifton, Bristol

    To be fair, most people will be using the premium cars for the majority of the time when they've done the career, so I'm kinda okay with that. The handling will still be spot on though surely? :)
     
  9. Amnesia

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 22, 2007

    Posts: 8,377

    Location: Buckingham Palace

    Just tried a DB9 on laguna seca in arcade mode with all the assists off, loved it.
     
  10. Netvyper

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 28, 2002

    Posts: 534

    Location: Taunton, Somerset

    That's why I could never work from home :cool:
     
  11. Steve_bullockuk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 8, 2010

    Posts: 1,179

    Yeah but they've knocked it together in a really short space of time............:rolleyes:
     
  12. Clarkson

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 10, 2010

    Posts: 1,499

    Location: Midlands

    Got mine today...not sure exactly when. Went downstairs to find it on the table, and nobody had bothered to tell me -_-

    Now installing at super slow mo pace. :cool:

    I must say, even just reading the little blurb about standard cars in the manual makes me sad. Sounds bad. :(
     
  13. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,370

    Location: Telford

    Anyone with me in saying they prefer Forza..? :(:(

    Really want to love GT but its just not doing it for me.. It just cant re-create the old GT days on the PS2 something is not there...
     
  14. antijoke

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 28, 2003

    Posts: 37,515

    Location: Stratford-Upon-Avon

    What does it say?

    I really do wish Mr. Latte would pop back to this thread to give his views.
     
  15. scousegit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 16, 2005

    Posts: 1,317

    what do you want to know?


    my first impressions were pritty average at the moment, need to try out the better cars, the loading times are still slow even when the game's full installed.


    Their is screen tearing on the wipers on the replay from what I can see.
     
  16. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,370

    Location: Telford

     
  17. scousegit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 16, 2005

    Posts: 1,317

    ive already done the update and it works, online doesnt work till tomorrow tho right?
     
  18. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,370

    Location: Telford

    I have done the update too, Just noticed it on shopto,s facebook page...
     
  19. Whappers

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2003

    Posts: 4,496

    Location: Belfast, Northern Ireland

    Supposedly.
     
  20. scousegit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 16, 2005

    Posts: 1,317

    just drove the type R civic on the B-4 license, interior looks bland, can hardly see the dials.