1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Official OcUK Vista Licencing Questions FAQ Thread

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Burnsy2023, 3 Jan 2007.

  1. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    No, not quite. The licence is not tied to the Mobo per se. It's ties to the machone, of which a mobo change would render it a different machine. It'd essentially be useless.

    Burnsy
     
  2. FrK`

    Gangster

    Joined: 29 Jan 2005

    Posts: 172

    So as im planning to use OEM version on my system, im a system builder?

    I can make up my own warrenty for myself :s?
     
  3. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    Yes you are, but this doesn't mean the OEM EULA doesn't apply.

    Burnsy
     
  4. Mr.Clark

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Jun 2005

    Posts: 1,586

    That's quite vague really. Maybe it would be obvious that going from a socket A motherboard to a quad-core one is an upgrade, but going from a basic-feature Core2Duo one to a better one would probably slip through.

    Hey ho, I think I'll wait and see what happens.
     
  5. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    This is why they stated "as similar as the market allows". And that is a quote directly from MS.

    Burnsy
     
  6. pcknight

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,045

    Location: Earth

    How would they know it was either an upgrade (Similar mobo) or a Faulty one? You could say it was a faulty one but installed a newer one instead? They would have to take your word for it.
     
  7. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    Yes they would. But I doubt they'd believe you the second time round if you lied.

    And remember, you then would wouldn't be licenced...etc...

    Burnsy
     
  8. pcknight

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,045

    Location: Earth

    Thing is, as we know, you can buy one bad MOBO after another. In the past i have had 3 faulty TFT's in a row! This can happen with any component. They know this. So, it would not be that unusual to have a string of faulty Mobo's. Be it a week apart of several months apart. A lot of People on here have probably bought an item and have had to exchange it etc a few time before thay received a 'working' one.
     
    Last edited: 5 Jan 2007
  9. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    I would strongly advise against using this as an excuse to break the EULA. What would be MS' response? Stop the sale of the OEM licence to all but athorised OEMs? Possbily and that would be a pain for everyone.

    Burnsy
     
  10. sniper007

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 18 Jan 2005

    Posts: 1,108

    What about BIOS updates...I take it this would not affect the liscence?

    Regards
     
  11. pcknight

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,045

    Location: Earth

    Advise against it all you like but i bet it has been done thousands of times already in the world. Millions of times really, and it will be done again and again. I can't see MS doing what you say they would do. That is unrealistic.
     
  12. Whitewater

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Feb 2004

    Posts: 3,678

    Location: Blyth, Northumberland

    Cheers :)

    Is there a requirement for the PC it's installed on to be new? For example, could I install an OEM copy of Vista on my Dell PC that's already licenced for XP, and therefore lose the use of both licences should I upgrade the motherboard (for example)?
     
    Last edited: 5 Jan 2007
  13. Brian The Snail

    Gangster

    Joined: 11 Jan 2005

    Posts: 180

    Location: Sunny Suffolk

  14. pcknight

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,045

    Location: Earth

  15. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    Nope, BIOS upgrades don't affect the licence.

    Burnsy
     
  16. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    Last edited: 5 Jan 2007
  17. Rebelius

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Dec 2003

    Posts: 3,144

    Location: Edinburgh

    he's trying to educate people - i think he said before that he doesn't particularly care what people do with the knowledge, just wants to help people to understand the ins and outs of the licensing so that they can make their own choices based on the facts.
     
  18. pcknight

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 23 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,045

    Location: Earth

    Is it bad to have a dual boot of XP and Vista? I'm sure someone said it was a no no.
     
  19. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    I'm fed up of this thead going off topic. Rebelious said it quite well:

    If you want to discuss this, don't post in this thread.

    Burnsy
     
  20. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 17 Nov 2003

    Posts: 36,694

    Location: Southampton, UK

    There's not an issue if you have two licences.

    Burnsy