Updating XBOX 360

Soldato
Joined
9 Jul 2005
Posts
2,547
Location
High Wycombe
How do I do this - very new to xbox 360 and it seems that I cannot sign onto live without creating a profile - it wont create a profile as it says I need a memory unit or xbox 360 hard drive.

I have a few hdds and usb sticks around but it wont use these, tried the update via usb stick and that didnt work!!

someone help please - I brought a bare xbox 360 to use as a media extender, then had to buy a psu and av cable - got it working with a mce remote - I dont want to buy a hdd as well! Can someone talk me through a way of doing this?

thanks
 
Soldato
Joined
4 May 2007
Posts
8,533
Location
West Midlands
No way of doing it I think, you're required to have at least an xboxbranded memory card to sign into live, standard computer peripherals do not work (without modding of some kind).
 
Soldato
Joined
2 Dec 2002
Posts
6,581
Location
N.Ireland
You can buy a 360 memory card from most good stockists, think they are 512mb, which is enough for a profile and to update the XBox :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
9 Jul 2005
Posts
2,547
Location
High Wycombe
Is there no way to do it via cd or usb stick - I have followed the instructions on the xbox website but it doesnt go into update - no idea why!
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
9 Jul 2005
Posts
2,547
Location
High Wycombe
once I've updated will I need to keep the momory card?

edit - The xbox I brought was 2nd hand from MM and is the origional one
 
Associate
Joined
13 Oct 2004
Posts
1,243
No way of doing it. You will need an XBOX Memory Card or Hard Drive.

It needs to store both the new NXE update and your profile files on it, and MS doesn't want you accessing these files.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
9 Jul 2005
Posts
2,547
Location
High Wycombe
Dont want to but a memory card!

To clear up my confusion, Can I use it as a media extender once I have updated and then given the memory card back to a mate? Does it actually save it on the card just whilst updating or is the card permenantly needed?
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Apr 2007
Posts
23,162
Location
stat city
Dont want to but a memory card!

To clear up my confusion, Can I use it as a media extender once I have updated and then given the memory card back to a mate? Does it actually save it on the card just whilst updating or is the card permenantly needed?

You need the memory. No way round it.
 
Caporegime
Joined
28 Oct 2003
Posts
30,277
Location
W'stchestershire
Interesting - you can boot straight into the Windows Media Center on Xbox startup - perhaps you don't need to log in for this and hence he won't need memory card?
 
Associate
Joined
13 Oct 2004
Posts
1,243
Interesting - you can boot straight into the Windows Media Center on Xbox startup - perhaps you don't need to log in for this and hence he won't need memory card?

He'll still need the NXE. Which needs a memory card. Permanently.
 
Top Bottom