1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Useful Freeware Utilities

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by jbloggs, Mar 6, 2007.

  1. OspreyO

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 12, 2006

    Posts: 2,799

    I use classic shell to make things simpler. Every new version of Windows they add more ways of aliasing things that just clutter up Windows Explorer. Libraries I delete and create a couple of my own. Win 10 is the worse it creates duplicates of drives, folder and who knows what else. I've gone back to 8 on my main laptop for that reason. Much less clutter, and use classic shell.
     
  2. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,140


    So do I, not sire why they MS changed it anyway... Windows 7+ is when I started not liking it... I understand Windows 10 is for mobile also, but I wish is would install the normal classic shell for the desktop, I am sure the tech exist for a OS auto sensing the hardware it is going on..

    Awesome, I have all the sessions of Rocko's modern life & Angry Beavers (Two cartoons I loved growing up), I will do them, thanks... "Did I give Rocko a french frie, no, because I could tell he wasn't hungry"... Oh the memories...
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  3. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,140

    Delete...
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2016
  4. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,140

  5. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 82,288

    Location: South Coast

    As SpeedFan doesn't seem to find my Z170X's fan and voltage sensors, I wanted to try something else, equally low on resources and simple, free... So found OpenHardwaremonitor. Seems to work perfectly, and has a neat widget that can be locked on the desktop.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,140

  7. BradShort

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 27, 2010

    Posts: 82

    Location: Body: Midlands - Mind: Elsewhere

    Another vote for Open HWM . . The widget is superb, and you can configure which metrics are shown on it.
     
  8. GunRunner

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 31, 2007

    Posts: 576

    Same here. Use it all the time on 2 PC's.
     
  9. Gamer4Life

    Associate

    Joined: Apr 5, 2010

    Posts: 88

    Location: San Diego, CA

    Nice tight little program that is actually really useful. However, the program does not display any info on ASUS Maximus IX Hero LGA1151 z270 mobo.

    Using Core Temp v1.7 to get temps instead.
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017
  10. Danny75

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 26, 2013

    Posts: 5,296

    http://windowsreport.com/windows-update-minitool-windows-10/

    Control your updates better with this tool. When it checks for updates, it doesn't automatically install them (including ones like video drivers you may not want), and you can hide the ones you don't want, and select the ones you do want. If not sure about which Mode to set in Automatic Updates in the bottom-left area of the tool's window, try Notification Mode.

    Could do with some feedback from Windows 10 Home users (I'm on Pro).

    Apologies if this tool has already been posted here (TL;DR).
     
  11. hrockh

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 22, 2012

    Posts: 105

    Location: Cardiff

    good thread! thank you for taking the time to do this :D
     
  12. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 15,298

    Location: COPEnhagen

    Reads like an advertisement and fresh account ^
     
  13. scorchedbee

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 12, 2013

    Posts: 373

    Location: Grimsby UK

    huge thanks for this thread! the bold highlights are particularly useful! Thanks!
     
  14. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,140

  15. miller745

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 511

    Location: Darlington

    That's GREAT! Got the widget displaying CPU temps, RAM usage, GPU temp and usage. Used 2 separate programs previously.
     
  16. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2009

    Posts: 18,393

    Random question, but why is "GUI for JkDefrag" marked as particularly good, when My Defrag isn't? it's the same software they just changed the name to My Defrag a few years ago.
     
  17. GunRunner

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 31, 2007

    Posts: 576

    Possibly because they have upgraded the software? Read https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MyDefrag

    The "particularly good" statement is subjective anyway.
     
  18. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2009

    Posts: 18,393

    That was my point. It looks like after the name was changed the software was re-added to the list under the new name.
     
  19. GunRunner

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 31, 2007

    Posts: 576

    Well why not. I personally do not see a problem with that. I cannot see the writers/authors monitoring this site or any other site for that matter to see if it has received favourable or non favourable reviews. Why worry a about a name change?
     
  20. ubersonic

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 26, 2009

    Posts: 18,393

    Because the list is messed up as a result? It's recommending an older revision of the software over the newer revision of the same software, it's like recommending ATi graphics cards over AMD graphics cards. Or Skydrive over Onedrive.

    I was just trying to point out the error that's all.
     


Share This Page