1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

vista 32 or 64 bit?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by dangerousmouse, Jan 2, 2007.

  1. dangerousmouse

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 25, 2005

    Posts: 894

    not really savvy with the whole 64bit operating system etc...but last i was reading was that the 64bit drivers wernt too hot. has this all been cleared up yet or are there still issues?

    so basically, do i get the 32bit or 64bit version of vista?
     
  2. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,817

    There's no reason not to go 64 bit. Driver support for the OS isn't going to be the poo-fest that Windows XP x64 was, so there's only advantages.
     
  3. dangerousmouse

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 25, 2005

    Posts: 894

    good good.

    now, i just need to wait till feb 1st for delivery! ;)
     
  4. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,817

    I should add, provided your hardware isn't / won't be ancient :)
     
  5. Ronaldo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 18, 2003

    Posts: 1,813

    personally prefer the 32bit. i dont see the support 64bit software and 32bit is at its best. 64bit maybe end of the year
     
  6. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 17, 2003

    Posts: 36,000

    Location: Southampton, UK

    If your upgraqding to Vista, there really is no reason to stay at 32bit. 64bit can still run all the 32 bit software.

    Burnsy
     
  7. dangerousmouse

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 25, 2005

    Posts: 894

    built this system around mid 2005 so i would like to think that everything is going to be ok
    msi k8n sli platinum mobo
    amd athlon 64 3500+ wini
    6600 gfx card
    1gig generic pc3200 ram
    wd raptor
    saegate barracuda

    if not, then it will have to wait till i build a new one (towards the end of this year :()
     
  8. Energize

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 12, 2004

    Posts: 27,368

    Thats what I thought until sound wouldn't work at all because I had a creative audigy 4 sound card and the 64-bit drivers didn't work for it.
     
  9. FatRakoon

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 9,897

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    I think you are confusing yourself here..

    Windows XP 32Bit and 64Bit are different.

    Vista 32Bit and Vista 64Bit are different.

    The thing you need to realise is that Both 32Bit and 64Bit drivers for vista will be available as and when.

    So, in all honesty, if you have a 64Bit CPU then you need to go 64Bit Vista... Only go for the 32Bit if your CPU is 32Bit.

    The 32Bit support for Vista will not last long, given that the manufacture of 32Bit CPUs will soon stop, if it has not done so already, what you will find happen, is that your 32Bit support for Vista will decline and you will be left in the lurch again... Kind of anyway.
     
  10. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,589

    Iv been struggling to answer this question as well :( theres no real info out there showing proper differences in it, I WANT to get 64bit vista, but then im well worried its going to mess up badly, what do I do ? also what about codecs on 64bit vista? I need to run ffdshow and stuff like that, will it work ?
     
  11. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,589

    Another thing Could I dual boot Vista 64 premium and XP MCE 2005 32bit ? that would be ideal
     
  12. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 23, 2005

    Posts: 3,543

    Codecs and other 'software' will be fine - it's only the drivers for your hardware that are an issue (any 32 bit software will just be run under emulation) - best to check with the manufacturers of your accessories (sound cards / gfx / controllers etc...) before buying - obviously support will improve - but having been badly stung by Xp64 I'm still a little cynical :rolleyes:

    Edit: You can multi-boot what ever you like! ;) (go on - get some 3.11 on there for old time's sake!)
     
  13. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 28, 2003

    Posts: 14,565

    I've ordered Home Premium 64 OEM and plan to dual-boot it with my existing XP Pro 32 installation until I'm totally happy that everything works fine on Vista. Sounds like the safest/cheapest way forward.
     
  14. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,589

    Hmmm after researching around and finding Vistas completely stupid content protection system, I think ill steer clear, how wrong is that though ? forcing users into even more unstable and costly PC's just so the industry can try and stop copying, I know for a fact it will be cracked and more than likely play better on 'older' pc's without hdcp and polling the system every 30ms, why MS why :(
     
  15. testa12

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2006

    Posts: 345

    if u want to use it for gaming, go 32bit!
     
  16. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,589

    Just use XP, no games i know coming out in the next 8 months NEED DX10, supreme commander is DX9 thankfully :) and will thus run on XP
     
  17. fumbles

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 6, 2006

    Posts: 611

    Location: Penal Colony 47

    Stick with 32bit for now.

    As said by me and many other people before:

    1. The support just isn't there, and won't be for awhile.... Some things will never have 64bit drivers!
    2. The performance "boost" is hardly noticeable, and only when you are running 64bit programmes. In which there arn't that many.
    3. Not many people have more then 4GB of memory, which is the main reason to go 64bit.
    4. 16bit, yes ole faithful, do you have any 16bit programmes you want to use? With 64bit Windows thats a no go!
    5. Some programmes (32) dont like 64bit, although this is only a handful.
    6. Flash and Java, both dont work on 64.... (JRE and JDK work fine, but as for the browser plugin ...)
    7. Thats all i can think of for now.
     
  18. FatRakoon

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 9,897

    Location: Behind you... Naked!

    NO! - the support for Vista will be 100% the same whether its 32 or 64 bit.

    There will only be the one driver for them both, with both the 32 and 64bit drivers in there... There will not be any drivers available for any hardware unless they have both the 32bit and the 64bit.


    So, for Vista, its useless trying to compare them and using drivers as the issue... If you can get the 32bit drivers, then you can get the 64bit ones.

    This is different to how XP32/64 is.

    Its part of MS's ruling... They wont sign any drivers unless they have both.

    Also somethign to think about... With all CPUs going to 64Bit, and how much MS want to kill off old hardware etc, the support for Vista32 will be dropped soon enough!

    If you want long term life out of vista then dont bother with 32bit... Thats just for the plonkers who want it and dont want a new PC.
     
  19. Combat squirrel

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 9,589

    True but then I upgrade my pc alot, so carnt even buy the OEM version (which I would as its cheaper) so HAVE to fork out for retail so I can change my pc, stupid licence agreements :mad:
     
  20. Burnsy2023

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 17, 2003

    Posts: 36,000

    Location: Southampton, UK

    But with the retail licence you can switch between 32bit and 64bit.

    Burnsy