1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows 10 FAQ

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by Danny091, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Grandmaster Fap!

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 10, 2004

    Posts: 9,349

    Location: España

    Hey guys, i recently changed hardware from intel to AMD on my Win10 Pro install to which i got an unable to activate windows error, went through trouble shooting and even spoke to tech support who informed me my key is invalid?! Ive reinstalled windows multiple times and even changed motherboard once and it was always fine, now my key isnt legit? WTF.
     
  2. Montala

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 8, 2005

    Posts: 2,842

    Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)

    I can only assume that as you have changed the CPU and also presumably the motherboard, Microsoft now consider it to be a different computer altogether, and that you are not therefore entitled to continue using the same Windows key
     
  3. Grandmaster Fap!

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 10, 2004

    Posts: 9,349

    Location: España

    Yeah total system change, it boggles my mind though that i pay for windows but if i want to upgrade i cant because if i do my Windows(that i paid for!!) wont work and MS wont help other than suggesting i buy a new license!? Thats ridiculous!!
     
  4. Montala

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 8, 2005

    Posts: 2,842

    Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)

    It certainly is, but looking at it from Microsoft's point of view, how do they know that you are not still using that windows key with the original components?

    What they need is some way of 'de-activating' or 'unregistering' a Windows licence, so that it can then be used elsewhere, although tha might be difficult in the event of a major system failure.

    As you had actually managd to speak with someone, I would have expected them to have been a bit more helpful though!
     
  5. Grandmaster Fap!

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 10, 2004

    Posts: 9,349

    Location: España

    This is what i thought, he went through the steps with me again that i had already tried but still nothing. He then asked me to give him my Key to which he told me it was invalid or blacklisted!
    Ive had the key for 4 years, multiple installs and change of hardware and its always been fine so i have no clue whats happened unless i had a limit on the amount of reinstall i could do? Cheesed off and wishing i'd stayed Intel :D
     
  6. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 5,998

    Where did you get the key from, also was it a oem key or retail?

    It maybe that Microsoft have blocked it if it's a eBay or cheap keep key off a site. If it's a retail key then you should be able
    To move it to any system you want regardless or hardware changes as long as it's only activated on one pc at a time.
     
  7. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 66,950

    They seem to have blacklisted a block of keys recently - had a few people who've bought from a certain company who fulfil from 3rd parties find their keys have become invalid recently after working for months/years, etc. (these aren't necessarily cheap keys).
     
  8. Grandmaster Fap!

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 10, 2004

    Posts: 9,349

    Location: España

    Got it from Amazon and it was retail(or claimed to be!) Ive been reading up and apparently MS dont sell just keys, only disk or usb? Im starting to think i got a key i shouldnt have :/

    Strange that my install was perfect up until i changed hardware, i would have thought if i had a dodgy license i would have got the annoying 'Your windows is fake brah!' message popping up way before then? :(
     
  9. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 66,950

    Read the comments on the listing on Amazon - bunch of fulfilled by Amazon sellers have been selling dubious keys with seemingly authentic packaging/USB key and MS have recently caught up with blacklisting them.
     
  10. Grandmaster Fap!

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 10, 2004

    Posts: 9,349

    Location: España

    So a bizarre thing, i installed my old hardware because id read that if you hadnt linked your hardware with your MS account it can stop your key migrating with a major hardware change. So i install win10 with the old comp and....windows is activated! But looking at my settings it turns out my hardware was linked with my account :/ Anyway, boot back up with my new system and.....INVALID KEY. Grrrr.

    And as a side **** you, i messed up a HD and spent all day recovering the data, switching to AMD seems to be a no for me :D
     
  11. Old Man

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 18, 2010

    Posts: 1,797

    Location: Scotland

  12. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 28,208

    Location: In a house

  13. PiKe

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 24,337

    Location: Lake District

  14. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 66,950

    They already are - with 1809 you pretty much have to remove everything that isn't a crucial Windows file to get enough space to update even when you try to use additional add-in storage. One of my tablets is a Toshiba Click 10 which has been rendered pretty much useless by the latest updates. (It is actually a pretty decent tablet for watching movies, etc. on the go as it has a decent quality 1920x1200 IPS type screen and dual batteries).

    EDIT: Just wish they'd stop with these half-arsed measures trying to make their failing update system work properly and get back to basics and do a proper job.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2019
  15. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,398

    Microsoft need to do updates / patches like Apple. Endless reports of problems with Windows 10.

    Microsofts becoming more annoying as time goes on.
     
  16. mrbell1984

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 9, 2008

    Posts: 23,398

    Retail
    OEM

    There is a reason these two exist.

     
  17. AthlonXP1800

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2014

    Posts: 2,786

    Location: Scotland

    :rolleyes:

    What about endless reports of problems with MacOS?

    https://discussions.apple.com/community/mac_os/mojave

    You can say the same with Apple need to do updates / patches like Microsoft and Apple becoming more annoying as time goes on.
     
  18. Rroff

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 13, 2006

    Posts: 66,950

    Not really - if anything that is even more of an advocacy for not doing updates in the way MS does - people need to be able to have proper control over updates as even Apple shows it is a problematic experience. He never claimed that Apple is a problem free experience.

    If you look at almost any OS updates cause issues so taking control away from the end user in that light is just stupid.
     
  19. Shac

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 223

    Anybody got a phone number to call microsoft re win10 activation errors?
    Upgraded from 7pro a long time ago and yes it is a legit version.
    Thought i had linked to my microsoft account and i see the computer data listed in there but it will not activate.
    Memory errors after upgrading MB and CPU to AMD screwed my install and I had to reinstall wiping all apps (that was fun).
    Now it refuses to activate.
    Stupid troubleshooter gives a phone number which is dead.
     
  20. sastusbulbas

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2008

    Posts: 1,711

    I have two OEM builds of Windows 7 Ultimate that refused to update to Windows 10.

    One W7 is also now stating its not genuine after a failed update that passed all the requirements set by Microsoft. That happened back when Windows offered the update. Always thought it failed because the lads ssd was near full.

    And two retail packs of Windows 7 Ultimate thst I dont think I want to update.

    Not too impressed with W10, nor keen to update. But not much option.


    As for Apple, gave up on them years ago
    Still got a useless expensive Tiger OSX family licence. But my macs went with all my other old pcs into the electric recycling.