1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Z390 Aorus Owners thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by LambChop, Nov 5, 2018.

  1. LambChop

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 4, 2011

    Posts: 3,160

    Haven't seen a thread yet, probably due to there being not many boards out in the wild yet.

    Thought this would be a good idea to post our settings, overclocks etc

    Don't get my master till tomorrow but no cpu yet anyway. Going to be running a 9900k with mine with h150i
     
  2. Crezzlin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 20, 2009

    Posts: 1,068

    Location: UK

    Nice..

    Just got my Master, 9900k and H150i will build the rig on Saturday, will be handy to have people with the same specs to share.. i got the OEM cpu, what version are you getting? Thanks
     
  3. LambChop

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 4, 2011

    Posts: 3,160

    Nice, identical to me.

    Got retail though, just waiting on shipping. Hopefully soon.

    Looking forward to hearing your thoughts over the weekend
     
  4. Robert896r1

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2018

    Posts: 133

    Just don’t get high frequency ram...past 3600mhz with tight timings isn’t a thing of these boards.
     
  5. Crezzlin

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 20, 2009

    Posts: 1,068

    Location: UK

    Cheers.. I went with
    AORUS RGB 16GB (2X8GB) DDR4 PC4-25600C16 3200MHZ DUAL/QUAD CHANNEL KIT

    Mainly for the RGB lol, but hopefully its all good, im interested to see the difference in voltage needed for the cpu overclock with it been oem and yours a retail :)

    My 3930K has been running at 1.45v for 6+ years and that was oem, my mate got the retail at the same time and needed much less voltage.
     
  6. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 11,078

  7. LambChop

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 4, 2011

    Posts: 3,160

    I got G-Skill Trident Z, the C14 3200Mhz stuff. (2x8GB)
     
  8. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 16,791

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    I will shortly be joining the club after finally giving up waiting and scratched that damn itch. I just ordered a Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Pro, Samsung 970 EVO 250Gb (both for a very, very good price plus £30 worth of Costa Coffee vouchers to sell on and £5 cashback on the Evo) and a i5 9600 for a reasonable price from elsewhere. The 9600k at first glance doesn't seem like much of a upgrade from my 4790k but the games I play are for the most part single threaded so If I can get that 9600k to 5.2Ghz it should actually get me a nice bit of gain. I really wanted a 9700k but I am not paying £450-500 for a cpu and £180-230 for a extra pair of cores over the 9600k is terrible value. At least I will be on a modern platform and will be able to drop in a i7 or i9 in the future should my needs change. I can also sell my current cpu/mobo/ram while they are still worth something. This will be my first Gigabyte board since the P31-DS3L I had back in 2007-2008. That was a hell of a board for the bargain price it was selling at and if I remember right someone on here had a Q6600 running at 3.8Ghz in one.

    Just need to choose some 3200mhz (maybe higher) memory now.
     
  9. LambChop

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 4, 2011

    Posts: 3,160

    Welcome to the club.

    Some c14 3200mhz will be fast enough :)
     
  10. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 11,078

    if you dont fancy the flashing aorus 3200 b-die or 8 pack ones, could go antec 2400 b-die for £140 and overclock them

    Set main timings and the rest auto and see how you get on etc
     
  11. Robert896r1

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2018

    Posts: 133

    At 14:08 you can see he's having to run 4500mhz XMP manually down to 4000mhz. It's not all IMC. There are issue with GB boards running high frequency RAM.

    You also don't know the quality of the secondary timings GB is setting and it's impact of performance. Example: https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-i...ressive-auto-memory-timings.html#post27688710
     
  12. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 16,791

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    I am not paying a small fortune for overpriced memory that I most likely won't see any difference in performance unless benching them. I will probably just get a 16Gb 3200mhz C16 kit for £125-140 and see if I can tighten the timings a bit or overclock them. It's a pity there is no Samsung Green equivalent in DDR4.
     
  13. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 11,078

    True, which is A- can be updated through BIOS, B g if your after Speed to select 2 Dimm slot boards like ITX or Apex .. everyone knows 4 Dimm pathways kill max speed of ram even when not in use , C- you run lower CL timings..

    CL19 and 4000hz works out the same as CL14 3200.

    19/4000 = 0.00475 second to respond
    14/3200 = 0.004375

    In a very loose maths !

    Why you need 4100hz at 18CL to rival 3200 b die kits.
    Get onto CL 12/10 with 3200 and your looking at 0.0031!!!!

    And for @pastymuncher CL16 3200 is 0.005 so.. not exactly slow , might take 2 FPS lower frame rate ... But not huge
     
  14. Robert896r1

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 28, 2018

    Posts: 133

    Read the thread I linked. You can see the loss of performance from having poor auto secondary timings even when the main timings are manually set between the different boards.

    Your math, while accurate, assumes other elements to be exactly the same. Far from it.

    And people aren’t buying high freq. XMP enabled ram to trim it down to 3200.
     
  15. LambChop

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 4, 2011

    Posts: 3,160

    The fastest for the money has to be c14 3200. Yeah you can get c15 3600 but it's expensive. CAS all the way.
     
  16. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 16,791

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Maybe C14 3200mhz is the best for performance but it's a hell of a price increase for something that will only be noticed in benchmarks. On OCUK the cheapest 16Gb kit of 3200mhz C16 is £139.99 and the cheapest C14 at the same speed is £199.99, an increase of £60. That doesn't strike me as a good balance of performance/price.
     
  17. Darujhistan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 3,001

    You're dead right, may as well set fire to £60.
     
  18. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 11,078

    Poor performance for gaming were your talking little FPS or workstation loads ? Baring in mind workstations use 2133hz ram across 4-8 channels .

    Also most people just buy into the fastest ram without knowing the finer details . Why 8 pack ram states you could run them CL10 3200hz if you know what your doing.
    And also records that have ram racing over 5000hz+ are normally single or dual channel on 2 Dimm boards using single core performance .
     
  19. DrCheese

    Associate

    Joined: Apr 20, 2015

    Posts: 21

    Is the Z390 Master worth the extra cost over the Pro? The better soundcard isn't really an issue for me (Have a Creative AE-5), Don't need more than 2 M2 slots and won't be overclocking the 9900k (Tho do want to run a full speed all cores)