1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Zen 2 Owners Thread!

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by SiDeards73, Jul 8, 2019.

  1. awaybreaktoday

    Mobster

    Joined: May 15, 2006

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: London

    It always been the case for ryzen this excuse is old now. 7nm and still under performing
     
  2. Nghtmare

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 21, 2018

    Posts: 596

    Location: Ashton

    Only reason I say that is because one of the games I play doesn't work at all, as in it does not launch with Zen 2 because of the CPU design.
     
  3. killem

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 3, 2010

    Posts: 412

    I dont normally benchmark but with a new build I like to test that my machine is performing inline with what is expected so I know I have set up everything correctly.
    I will download division 2 this morning and report back.
     
  4. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,961

    Location: West Midlands

    Had a bit more time before this morning meetings to mess about with RAM, still not excellent, but getting there. @Plec

    [​IMG]


    Will hopefully have more time this afternoon, might even fetch the system home to tinker with tonight if I am still feeling there's more to be had.
     
  5. awaybreaktoday

    Mobster

    Joined: May 15, 2006

    Posts: 4,023

    Location: London

    Will you be able to report that back today?

    I would like to know what resolution you game at?
    In built benchmark result....
    And FPS at ultra settings while going down Pennsylvania Ave Northwest, And also the same for high settings.
    Many thanks.....
     
  6. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 12,360

    Jesus - i hope you at least wine and dined that memory before you tweaked its proverbials off :)

    Thanks for the update, @Journey - can't believe there's still room for play - as mentioned previously they've become amazing value. Compare those timings/price to that of 'stock' 2 x 16Gb Dominator Platinum 3600 or G.Skill equivalent and you must be pretty chuffed! (putting it mildly)

    ^^^*cough*@tamzzy*cough* - 2 x 16GB clocked CBS, tight timings, nuts price - only a matter of time...
     
  7. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,961

    Location: West Midlands

    I didn't pay for it, but it is nice to see value back in the RAM market for all the consumers out there. :)
     
  8. killem

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 3, 2010

    Posts: 412

    Will try. 50gb download and I have not got the fastest of connections.
    I play at 4k ultra with a Radeon 7. Was playable with my old 4770k and 8gb ram so will see how much I was GPU bound at that res.
     
  9. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 29,553

    Location: Welling, London

    How are u guys tweaking your clocks and volts, bios or Ryzen master?
     
  10. Rids

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 30, 2008

    Posts: 5,634

    Any Expanse fans keeping reading that motherboard name as 'Tachi' by mistake?

    I'm using this thread for spec ideas, although I'm massively falling victim of spec creep.
     
  11. almoststew1990

    Mobster

    Joined: May 12, 2011

    Posts: 4,590

    Location: Southampton

    any comments on chipset fan noise? Is the fan speed also controllable?
     
  12. killem

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 3, 2010

    Posts: 412

    Depends on the board and state of bios it seems. My MSI Prestige X570 Creation is semi pasive. Has not spun up once and you can set the fan curve for it.
     
  13. i_am_jon

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 3, 2007

    Posts: 108

    Ok the chipset fan on Aorus Ultra is a bit annoying. Seems to have 2 speeds quiet (can't hear it over other fans) and full power (quite loud).

    Tends to ramp up quickly when running benchmarks, opening programs etc although most of the time it is quiet. Don't think it's really getting that hot, just the fan profile is too aggressive. Can't find any options to control it but sounds like it should be sorted in next bios version (currently on F4d).

    Edit: Not installed a single game yet, too busy messing with setup, hyperV etc.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2019
  14. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,961

    Location: West Midlands

    Well, R5 3600 is sitting at 4.4GHz with PBO on B450. Will run some R15 etc. and post back. :)
     
  15. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 11,106

    Nice.
     
  16. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,961

    Location: West Midlands

    Posted results in Cine R20 thread, sadly the 4400MHz is not stable, it drops to 4.375GHz
     
  17. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 11,106

    Is CPUZ reporting the memory correctly? high density RAM?
     
  18. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,961

    Location: West Midlands

    2x 16GB Dual Rank.

    I'm crossing my fingers that I get the approval for a purchase request for 4x 32GB Samsung DIMM's so I can test 128GB on AM4, only issue I have is due to it being unbuffered/non-ECC that I can't use it anywhere else after I am done with it.
     
  19. oweneades

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 17, 2005

    Posts: 8,764

    Received my 3900X and X570 Aorus Pro yesterday but only had enough time spare to test it all works.

    Quick and dirty shot of it on my test bench with the Stock cooler installed and my wife's "old" Vega 56:

    [​IMG]

    Quickly booted off of the SSD I had on the X99 machine and despite not running XMP, out of the box bios and not having any chipset drivers installed it still managed ~ 3150 in Cinebench R15. No idea on clocks, temps or anything like that as I had no time (Was approaching midnight at this point).

    Plan is to get it all installed properly over the next couple of days and then spend the weekend tinkering and benchmarking. :)
     
  20. jigger

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 28, 2007

    Posts: 11,106

    Is that a crucial green kit?