The Official Prometheus (Alien Prequel) Thread

Soldato
OP
What do you mean? Why do another The Thing or why before Alien.

LOL...I meant why do another :)

I've heard it could be the Norweigans story but I'm not convinced filming will start (as I'm not convinced Alien 5 and Pred 3 will actually make it to screen) these are just rumours and scripts being thrown around.

I've been hearing rumours of the norwegians story for the last 8 years or so, didn't think they'd actually progressed into writing a script for this or putting it into pre-production.

Directors make a huge difference to a film. You can pretty much tell a Scott film even if you don't know its one of his. Similarly if the camera is moving far too fast, the scenes cut every few seconds and the camera appears constantly pointing in the wrong direction and theres no sense of distance and time then odds on its Michael Bay.

As someone else said, with Scott in charge this film will at the very least be decent, he simply wouldn't let a film he's not happy with be released.

Soldato
Now i'm excited...not just for a new Robocop movie, but because Aronofsky is in charge, it could be epic.

Exactly. Why can't people treat these films as individual projects rather than jumping on the "omg remakes r bad mmkay!!!" bandwagon?

Granted I'd rather see more original content and there are a lot of examples of bad prequels, re-imaginings, etc. but it gets tiring seeing the same faux cynicism crop up every single time.

Soldato
Well the original Alien cast are all still alive so I'd like to see them all back in their roles. Of course there would have to be some chronotons involved to explain their age but a good script writer should be ok. Maybe they could get Joe Eszterhas to write and Roland Emmerich to share the directors credit with Scott.

Or they could just leave well enough alone.

Soldato