Doubling up speaker cable, improvement I've noticed

Soldato
OP
Hi Feek,

When I made this I was speaking the truth.

I'm a credible person, i'm 47 years old, i'm a lead software engineer, spent time around audio also.

Go back on on some of my OCUK posts, you will see I post credible things. Normally about Seasonic PSU's, or WD Enterprise Drives, or setting up your speakers, or shares in Tesla, Nvidia or AMD.

I know you don't believe me, however the post I wrote is 100% the truth.

Soldato
OP
I'd be up for seeing the output of both solutions compared on a scope, it should easily show the differences I beleive?

Yes it should, however I don't have a scope.

All I can say to anyone read this. If they have spare speaker cable in their house, and especially if their existing speaker cable is on the thin side, then double up your speaker cable, then people can choose for themselves.

And if your not sure, do one speaker only, then A/B by switching the left and right balance.

Man of Honour
4m of 17 AWG is around 0.06-0.07 ohms - IIRC most amplifiers tend to be more sensitive to capacitance on the output rather than resistance until you are into 1+ ohms.

As for seeing differences on a scope - albeit I'm not overly knowledgeable as to their operation but when I was building and testing different headphones amplifier designs there was definite differences that I couldn't see manifest using a 20MHz oscilloscope.

Last edited:
Soldato
Have you done a blind test? It could well be a placebo. I'd imagine the single run would be adequate for these speakers assuming it's a fairly short distance to the amp.

Yes I did, I ran one speaker with the double wire only for 3 days and switched left and right to compare. To be honest the difference was very much obvious, I noticed from the very first track I played. There is more detail and sound is more relaxed (tweeters less harsh) on the speakers with double cable.