If you work from home what do you do?

Soldato
Try and desperately convince my customers we need a face to face meeting rather than Teams so I can get out the house.

I feel you. Had a meeting the other day in person! I made a day of it, went for lunch, sat there for 2 hours, went and met the guy. It was wonderful.

We're booking lots more in-person meetings now though. Very excited.

Don
Yea I WFH; Have done for years - but usually with the odd site visit thrown in - which obviously hasn't happened for a long time.

I work in IT; I do architecture, design, support, implementations. Most of my day consists of talking to people, providing best practices, advice and implementing pieces of work which come to us. Vast majority of my role is based around projects for various clients and segmenting my time between them.

I try to take a lunch, doesn't happen often. Sometimes lunch consists of actual food...But it's normally just getting away from the monitors for a bit - either guitar, a walk, or just a change of scenery. I don't have a TV in my office - but watch youtube occasionally. I don't use streaming services in my office either; Occasionally at lunch I'll play a game, but Spotify will be on quite a bit in between meetings. But music doesn't change, as when I was in an office 5 days a week I usually had my headphones on anyways!

Commissario
Yes, have done for years and now permanently since Covid started - I think this will be the norm for us now.

I write code and break apps, and I'm still trying to complete YouTube...

Soldato
You say obvious but it's also obvious you read no further than the header.
:)

Oh, I see, and it wasn't obvious what you were asking for. :cool:

I currently run two teams of people who build and maintain the order management systems for a hedge fund. I also still write code, and "do" project management, infrastructure, and consult with other areas of the business about business and technical issues and queries.

Typical day would be;