Alec Baldwin fatally shoots woman with prop gun on movie set

Soldato
It was probably a shot where the protagonist fires a weapon into/over the camera, which will be why he was firing it in direction of people, and I'm not an expert but the director and director of photography would usually be around the vicinity of the camera.

V F

V F

Soldato
If there are 'lessons to be learned' (hate that phrase) it means something went wrong, somebody will be liable.

I remember reading the story of the actor (Funboy - Michael Massee) it happened to for Brandon Lee. It severely haunted him for decades, in a way keeping him back in life with all the guilt and he died within the last few years or so. 2016 to be exact.

Soldato
It was probably a shot where the protagonist fires a weapon into/over the camera, which will be why he was firing it in direction of people, and I'm not an expert but the director and director of photography would usually be around the vicinity of the camera.

Yeah, seems like the most likely scenario.

Crazy how this can still happen with all safety checks in place, especially on a prop. I would have imagined that these things would have been impossible now with CGI and effects they have at their disposal. Unless super low budget ofc.

If there are 'lessons to be learned' (hate that phrase) it means something went wrong, somebody will be liable.

Broadly by "lessons to be learned" I meant exactly that. You can think of everything until you are blue in the face and still miss something until you learn from it. Hindsight is easy. It of course all depends on what is happening, searchinng for a person to blame every time somethinng goes wrong is not the right approach.

In this tragic case someone (person or company) will likely be liable though, whether the prop ends up being faulty and was not checked properly when being loaned out or something like that.

Soldato