Jobs - A little bit about what you do and perks

Soldato
Right every few weeks I see a lot of people on here saying they don't know what to do with their lives or what direction to take so I am starting this thread for members to write down what they do, the company they work for and a little bit of information about their job, most of the threads in the past have included money which you get people BS'in about and trying to willy wave with no information about what they actually do.

Ok Ill start:

Job

I am a Structural Design Engineer

Company

I work for a company called Saipem (www.saipem.eni.it) which is the construction contractor of Eni (www.Eni.it), it is an Italian based construction company who mainly deals with the oil and gas trade but does work outside of this when they see fit.

Day to day

At the moment I am assigned to a project which is laying a pipeline from Spain to Algeria for a 3rd party company called MedGaz, the team I am working with is responsible for all of the prelay survey, installation of cable crossings at a depth of 2000m and also the post lay trenching using a system called Beluga (24" Pipe).

This means I have to produce ancillary structures for winches, contingency structures incase anything goes wrong, access platforms for Beluga (60Te piece of kit) also over see other engineers who we have doing other pieces of kit, I am one of two permanent structural engineers on this project so my responsibility is quite high on it.

Overall Job

My work can see me travel to some 'lovely' places but it is always to work, so far in the past year I have been to Egypt, Malta, Cyprus and Almeria, it can see me working on very different projects as we deal mainly with subsea problems it is normally ROV based or if it is shallow Diver based.

Perks

As staff I have quite a few perks at this company, Health Care, Dental Care, Life Insurance, Gym Membership, and Pension etc.