1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3600 cl14 bargain

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Masteri3laster, Sep 24, 2019.

  1. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: Nov 8, 2007

    Posts: 9,724

    Location: Outer Space

    That's very good to know, thanks. What board and CPU are you using? :)
     
  2. Masteri3laster

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 24, 2019

    Posts: 24

    Sorry for the late reply been working a lot. I will test again and post results tonight.
     
  3. Masteri3laster

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 24, 2019

    Posts: 24

    I can only get 3600 cl14 with high v’s(1.51) stable, but use 3733 cl16 @ 1.4. I’m using ASRock X570m pro4 / 3600. Crappy board I think.
     
  4. Dtshaw

    Gangster

    Joined: May 3, 2014

    Posts: 231

    Thanks!
     
  5. Besty

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,285

    Could do with someone taking one of the team with the lower latency kits and seeing if they are A2.

    If we can get a confirmed A2 set of 16GB I will buy a couple of kits to test.

    Nobody is setting DDR4 world records with B-Die anymore its all switching to binned A2 kits at C14.
     
  6. Masteri3laster

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 24, 2019

    Posts: 24

    are 16gb kits available in a die atm? Even if they were, they would most definitely command a premium over b die. As for world records, I think most people are just looking for high performance ram at a reasonable price.
     
  7. Shac

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 133

    Asrock X570 taichi and 3900X
     
  8. Shac

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 133

    Patriot Viper steel 4400 16gb timings at CL14 rock solid.
    These are much tighter than i could get my 8 pack 4000 to run they just fell over at the mere mention of CL14 let alone tight timings.
    After importing XMP from Thaiphoon Dram calculator tells me the memory is 94% quality
    The only change from the printout is I have to run Gear down to get the above stable.

    https://imgur.com/a/iZ4DJaM
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2019 at 8:18 PM
  9. Masteri3laster

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 24, 2019

    Posts: 24

  10. Dtshaw

    Gangster

    Joined: May 3, 2014

    Posts: 231

    Thanks mate!. Yeah, we're around the same it seems. i am 16-16-16-30 (3733mhz) at 1.42 volts at the moment. I did try to push for CL15/14 but.. don't really wanna push above 1.45 on the memory. :p
     
  11. Masteri3laster

    Associate

    Joined: Sep 24, 2019

    Posts: 24

    I can post with 3733/1866IF @ cl14, but needs 1.5v and other v’s ramped up. Still unstable with that. I may try gear down mode enabled as others have suggested this helps with stability. I’d love to get the latency to be sub 65ns, but tbh I’m perfectly happy with performance and will probably wait for a bios update.
     
  12. Threepwood

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 29, 2011

    Posts: 4,614

    Location: Monkey Island


    The consensus seems to be 1.5 to 1.6 being safe with Samsung b-die having a larger lithography and can take it (also why it likes it ...)

    I dunno about how safe that is for the cpu, but not finding many, erm any? examples of ryzen death cause of that.

    Aw what the hell, let's rub the lamp and see if we can get the real deal in here to confirm!

    * rubs lamp @8 Pack *

    Dear Mr Genie Sir 8 pack Sir, who art in overclocking heaven, could you please confirm or deny the above? Thanks :p
     
  13. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: Nov 8, 2007

    Posts: 9,724

    Location: Outer Space

    Thanks :)
     
  14. Dtshaw

    Gangster

    Joined: May 3, 2014

    Posts: 231

    Yeah, i tried all that power down mode/OHM/Geardown, etc.. at 1.45 and wasn't having any of it. I have not tried 1.5V atm but i am happy with 66ns and current settings, not to mention it's a A LOT of work/testing for next to little gains. :p
     
  15. Space Monkey

    Don

    Joined: Nov 8, 2007

    Posts: 9,724

    Location: Outer Space

    RAM arrived today, Literally only had 5 minutes with this, used Ryzen DRAM Calculator to get 3600 C16 on the first generation Threadripper, decent result so far :cool:

    32GB (4x8Gb)

    [​IMG]