1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD R9 290 (Non-X, Pro, etc) Owners Club

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Orangey, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,213

    Location: The KOP

    Can't wait to give it a try mate, just waiting on stock fans to be delivered before I order.

    Am now been thinking if I should buy the H90 instead I could still fit two these in front of my case.
     
  2. maj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 19, 2010

    Posts: 2,315

    Location: Newcastle

    Will give those a try thanks.

    edit: My Afterburner looks different to yours and I don't have those 2d/3d options and my tabs are different too.

    Yep completely stock clocks.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2015
  3. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,860

    Location: United Kingdom

  4. maj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 19, 2010

    Posts: 2,315

    Location: Newcastle

  5. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2010

    Posts: 14,210

    IMO the H75 is fine. Its temp for the 290 is probably going to be in the 50C~60C range with as oppose to my H105 at 40~50C range. Overclocking, my H105 won't offer much (if any) benefit of pushing further comparing to the H75...the only realistic benefit of having a better AIO jump means you can have it quieter with the fan spinning at lower rpm.
     
  6. shankly1985

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 25, 2011

    Posts: 19,213

    Location: The KOP

    Thanks so do you think they not much a difference between 120mm rad and 140mm.. Tbh 60c I'll be more than happy. Atm gta5 is really pushing my GPU's into the mid 80s I can get them to stay low by looking frame rate to say 60fps but running 144hz kinder pointless.

    I also really like the look of the HG10 think it's very clean how corsair have designed it.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2015
  7. Marine-RX179

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 6, 2010

    Posts: 14,210

    Having a better cooler could do one of the two followings:
    1. Achieving lower temp at the same noise level
    or
    2. Achieving same temp at a lower noise level.
     
  8. AgedIdiot

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 31, 2007

    Posts: 2,260

    Location: Gods County(Allegedly)

    Am no advertisement for speed but some 6 months after purchasing 2 x XFX 290 are both under water:) (27" 1440)

    Noise - what noise?

    Temps - worst under load <60c

    Am very pleased- long may it last :D
     
  9. lude1962

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 27, 2014

    Posts: 2,152

    Power Color pcs 290
    has any one fitted water cooling to this?
     
  10. maj

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 19, 2010

    Posts: 2,315

    Location: Newcastle

    Matt been running your suggested settings and I still get random black screens. Time to RMA card I think.
     
  11. Geck0

    Perma Banned

    Joined: Jan 23, 2014

    Posts: 465

    Location: Beerwah, QLD Australia

  12. m1xmag

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 21, 2012

    Posts: 189

    Another user here - Sapphire Tri-X...... haven't tweaked it yet as was nervous this might affect the warranty?
     
  13. edwarhys

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 14, 2014

    Posts: 435

    Location: Dorrington/Salop

    Hey guys, anyone here running crossfire 290's ? Just wanted to know what it's like with CF profiles and if you have issues with certain games.

    Thanks :)

    Sapphire R9 290 4Gb Tri-X owner :)
     
  14. jrodga2k5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 28, 2005

    Posts: 8,589

    Location: Motherwell, Scotland

    So I picked up a Matrix version of the R9 290...massive cooler...hoped it would do the job but the temps seem to be crazy.

    I've been hitting 90C in Game of Thrones (Telltale one) and 90C in the Witcher 3 as well...definitely shouldn't be the case in both surely?

    I do have a well ventilated case so that shouldn't be too much of an issue.
     
  15. Gerard

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 31,481

    Location: Ireland


    That card does run hot for some reason despite the cooler it has, for cooler running cards the sapphire tri-x and vapor-x are probably your best bet.
     
  16. jrodga2k5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 28, 2005

    Posts: 8,589

    Location: Motherwell, Scotland

    If that's the case that's alright as I know the R9 290's have to stay around 94C max :p

    I'll try setting up a fan profile and see how I go with it.
     
  17. thewanted

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 27, 2007

    Posts: 4,803

    Does anyone know to stop the blood splatter flickering in Dying Light when Crossfire is enabled? I've tried disabling AA in-game but it didn't help.
     
  18. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,821

    Man, I received a Vapor-X 290 yesterday and it's having the random black screen issue that a lot of people have reported. It seems absolutely fine under gaming load. It's passed FireStrike and Valley and I've played about five hours of GTA V, but whilst randomly browsing the internet it's now just outright crashed to a black screen three times.

    Seems to be taking the whole system down, rather than just not outputting a signal, as I had music on in the background which stopped and it needed a hard reset to fix. Ironically, it happened for the third time right in the middle of me filling out the RMA form on the site of the retailer I bought it from.

    Properly cleaned out my old drivers before installing it, using out of the box clocks, everything else in the system I know works fine. It's a real bummer, as £180 seemed like an awesome deal for this card, and I've been delighted with its performance in games. Three random crashes during desktop use in 24 hours is unacceptable though.

    I'm just worried that the retailer I'm dealing with is going to run it through FireStrike or something and say it's fine. I don't really know how you reproduce random crashes whilst doing nothing.
     
  19. meldarthx

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2013

    Posts: 1,476

    Location: far side of the moon

    Aretak; what browser are you using? and hardware excelleration?
     
  20. Aretak

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,821

    Using Firefox, with hardware acceleration off (to allow MacType to work). I've read elsewhere a lot of people having the same issue with Chrome though.