1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD R9 290 (Non-X, Pro, etc) Owners Club

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Orangey, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 27,841

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Shattered dreams.
     
  2. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,568

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    I'll get there, christmas family time, plus I remembered I need to swap the X-Fi back down to the bottom pci-e, as soon as it's done I will post the pics.:)
     
  3. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,568

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Maybe the heatsink has a plate, or there is a vrm heatsink missing?

    Hoping there is and it was left off to show off components, the reference vrm's are looking like the coolest running vrms-based on my results in comparison to all my 5870-6950-7950/70 reference vrms and other users findings.

    Considering the flak towards the reference r9's cooling, they still managed to make them run cooler consistently over the series.:)
     
  4. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,613

    [​IMG]

    Stock for now make sure it works.
     
  5. Dazboots

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 28, 2004

    Posts: 1,590

    This is my setup.
    enthoo primi case.
    gigabyte sniper 3 mobo.
    I7 3770k watercooled 4650 mhz
    1x 256 smasung ssd, 1x 128 gx ocz ssd,
    2x 1tb hard drives.
    1x 1250 watt revolution psu Enermax
    8gb samsung green.
    thermochill pa 120.3 rad
    ocool monsta rad
    2x powercolour r9 290
    2x EK full cover actel blocks.
    eyefinity acer 3x 23 ips monitors tripple stand.
    can run these card over 1200 gpu each memory dont like much overclocking due to black screens. but had them finish benchmark over 1500 mhz.
    pics
    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

    http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/170/ujaa.jpg

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2013
  6. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,289

    And on the board chaps. :)
     
  7. almighty15

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Dec 15, 2008

    Posts: 3,417

  8. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,289

  9. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,613

    Thanks very much mate it was your thread I originally found which encouraged me to get my setup simply because having my case with slow speed fans I like a quiet system therefore I would have had to stick to nvidia but i'll try this setup and it should be quieter and cooler :)
     
  10. Defconluke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 26, 2012

    Posts: 176

    I wasn't expecting it to be this loud tbh - it was idling around 40 DegC and much louder then my old GTX 660.
    While just watching a Twitch stream GPU usage is irregular, temperature is at 49 DegC and fan is at 52% (2875RPM).

    Should this be normal behaviour?
     
  11. Confused Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,606

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    Definitely not. At stock the fan stays at 20% until the GPU hits 90C, only then does it increase. Do you have Afterburner running, or anything selected in Overdrive in CCC?
     
  12. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,289

    GPU usage can't be monitored reliably in Afterburner AFAIK so don't go by that.
     
  13. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    Yeah something up there. Fan speed should be 20% at idle.
     
  14. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,613

    Mines at 20% idle but the temperatures and slowly creaking up to 90C in idle! But because the game is not in 3D mode the fans are not speeding up... AMD have truly messed up on this card the only thing going for it is the performance/price can't wait to get my cooler on it.
     
  15. GoogalyMoogaly

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 29, 2010

    Posts: 6,954

    Location: Cornwall

    I stick by my stance of not liking this new powertune in practice (in theory it's not so bad).
     
  16. old gamer

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 6, 2011

    Posts: 4,325

    Location: bristol

    I gave up overclocking with powertune i just dont get it, thank god for afterburner
     
  17. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,779

    Location: United Kingdom

    I'm not sure its operating 100% correctly. Certainly it does not if you use afterburner, it interferes with it. You either have to pick one or the other. For now i pick afterburner.
     
  18. Confused Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,606

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    Finally got a few minutes to take a picture of my PC - any chance of adding me to the OP? :D

    Confused Stu [[ Make: Sapphire || Number of cards: 2 || Cooling: Air ]]

    PC (outside of case):
    [​IMG]

    PC (case open - please ignore the dust, it gets used not cleaned!):
    [​IMG]

    Gratuitous shot of above the desk (3 screens for gaming, one for monitoring/email):
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Defconluke

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 26, 2012

    Posts: 176

    Fixed it. EVGA Precision X still had my GTX 660 fan profile loaded.
    All is good now.
     
  20. Confused Stu

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 27, 2009

    Posts: 2,606

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    Glad that's solved. Good on you for posting the fix - sure someone else will run into that issue and be glad you did. :)