1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD R9 290 (Non-X, Pro, etc) Owners Club

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Orangey, Dec 25, 2013.

  1. Allnamestaken

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 25, 2010

    Posts: 4,285

    Location: Ipswich

    Well provided I have no problems I will stick blocks on them :p.

    I need reference mods anyway no lol to put waterblocks on?

    I can stick 4 in this rig lol.
     
  2. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

    This card is driving me insane also I've contacted OCUK to RMA it think i've got one with dud memory - even when I get my replacement i'll be sticking to stock cooling and stock pc settings to make 100% sure the card is fine. I've got the Hynix (or is it hypnix? memory also which is meant to be the better one).

    EDIT: Apologies looks like I've got the Elpdia memory.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  3. almighty15

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Dec 15, 2008

    Posts: 3,417

    Still having 0xA0000001 error and its really starting to **** me off now.... Had the card since 9:30am today and not played a single ****ing game on it....
     
  4. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

    I'd try running the rest of your system in stock just to test that's what I've done. What PSU do you have?
     
  5. almighty15

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Dec 15, 2008

    Posts: 3,417

    Everything is stock... I have a Corsair 850w unit that's only 2 weeks old.... Managed my 1.3Ghz 780 fine.

    It's the card and not my system, it's just a piece of ****... AMD need to step up there quality control.
     
  6. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

    Agreed. I have the same PSU and about 2 weeks old also.
     
  7. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,308

    The last guy who kicked up a fuss over a "faulty" card found leftover Nvidia software was to blame.
     
  8. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

  9. atomic7431

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2004

    Posts: 2,844

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I have a VTX3D Radeon R9 290 Pre-Flashed to 290X ordered on the 24 november 2013.

    Case inside shot as box is in the loft -
    [​IMG]

    not quite sure what to expect in terms of what i should easily be getting when ocing this as i have elipidia ram, can bench at 1150 to 1170 core with 1500 on the ram, but i do occasionally when using cgminer get a crash and garbled display red/pink looking, need to test more in games. Battlefield 4 was black screening but not played it whiled ocd for a bit.
     
  10. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,308

    Added!
     
  11. atomic7431

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2004

    Posts: 2,844

    Location: Lincolnshire

    link to a valley benchmark here 2951
    and 3d mark here 11142
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  12. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

    A quick update on mine to help anyone else if they have problems - I just left Unigine heaving running on mine for 2 hours no problem... and I've only had the one black screen when idle. I'm starting to think maybe it black screened to reset the temperature and it was creeping up to 90C watching a blu-ray and not being in 3d mode it never accelerated the fan above 20% I might cancel the RMA and see if a custom low temp fan profile sorts it out.
     
  13. atomic7431

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 18, 2004

    Posts: 2,844

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I have a kraken on order and a corsair hydro h55 to cool the core and hope to keep the vrms at good temps as well and i think i may get more core speed out of this card but the memory is where the issues seem to be here, bloody elpida
     
  14. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    I've never had a black screen and i use a custom fan profile. Try this for size.


    [​IMG]
     
  15. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

    Mine was fairly similar but I've changed it to be the same as yours pretty much.
    I see you've changed the core volt but how does the power limit works? Always confused me as surely up to +50% more power means you go over the core limit you've set?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  16. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,998

    Location: United Kingdom

    Power limit should be set +50% and then ignore it. Its just how much power the card can draw before it reaches its TDP. My theory is power tune is a little bugged at the moment. Immature drivers. I believe the fan is not kicking in until its too late causing the black screen issue. That's just my two cents and could be wrong though, not tested the theory much.

    Under volting helps keeps temps down and means you can get away with a lower fan speed. Shut down afterburner and double click the +150mv shortcut included in the rar file download. It will give you some voltage control on afterburner, you can then under volt if needed like i do. Without under volting i need a more aggressive fan profile. I also have two cards in crossfire so if you have just one card it won't need to be as aggressive.

    http://www.sendspace.com/file/jqjw53
     
  17. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,308

    Power limit allows the card to draw more watts in excess of normal, so for a 250W card it would allow 125W extra to be drawn from the PSU at +50%.

    At least that's my understanding.
     
  18. almighty15

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Dec 15, 2008

    Posts: 3,417

    Just got back from the OCUK store, took my 290 back and it was tested and confirmed faulty.

    Staying away from them until they get the quality control up too the standard that there competitor offers.

    Had a couple of 4Gb 270x's to play with instead and surprise surprise, my computer and drivers work fine with them installed.

    AMD really dropped the ball with the reference 290 cards.
     
  19. Vegeta

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 6, 2004

    Posts: 5,615

    Seems like a rushed product in every way with the rubbish stock cooler, black screen issues and driver/compatibility issues which is a shame as it's great value for performance. Thankfully I think mines OK the only issue is heat which will be a non issue once I stick my 3rd party cooler on after more stability testing over the weekend.
     
  20. Sacrifice

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 26, 2013

    Posts: 359

    What would you say is the best cooler I could slap on this, is there one that doesn't add any extra length than the stock cooler? Also, considering I haven't done this before, one that is relatively easy. I was looking at the gelid icy vision REV. 2, cheap, and is very short at 216mm or something like that. Its just things like the little vrm heatsink that i know nothing about. Or if it is even worth it.