1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Android Q Beta

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by V_R, 11 Mar 2019.

  1. FishLicker

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Jan 2015

    Posts: 1,547

    A little optimistic, no? :p
     
  2. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

    This is correct. I actually turned off dark mode before installing the beta as I read it is quite buggy, especially in the Photos app.



    Edit: OP updated with detail of how to join.

    As Google+ is dead, Google have an official subreddit for bugs etc here: https://www.reddit.com/r/android_beta/
     
    Last edited: 14 Mar 2019
  3. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2005

    Posts: 13,741

    Knowing Google, that's where they'll keep it
     
  4. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,461

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Touché :p
     
  5. Matteysan

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,991

    Location: Telford

    That or they'll remove it claiming material design 3 is coming.
     
  6. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

     
  7. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

    Heads up if you're a Santander customer, their online banking app thinks your device is rooted if you're running the Q beta as I've just found out.

    Gpay works though.
     
  8. Dangerous

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,521

    Location: Nordschleife

    NatWest works however Halifax doesn't FYI
     
  9. uvarvu

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2004

    Posts: 4,275

    Location: Bath

    Starling is also broken. Curve is okay.
     
  10. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,410

    Any one had issues with WhatsApp not backing up anymore?
     
  11. Foyman

    Gangster

    Joined: 9 Nov 2003

    Posts: 426

    Location: nr Stoke

    Yes, gets to 100% but never finishes so I have to cancel it.
     
  12. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

  13. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

    I've updated the OP with some links etc for anyone new looking at enrolling into the beta.
     
  14. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

    Tip: go to app settings > default apps > roles.

    I had a good few in there that were blank, including call blocking. I've reset the apps back and now I have the option to block calls again.
     
  15. uvarvu

    Mobster

    Joined: 29 Apr 2004

    Posts: 4,275

    Location: Bath

  16. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

    Just updating from B1 now. Will see how it is, worst case I'll go back to stock.
     
  17. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,410

    Took ages to boot
     
  18. Matteysan

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Nov 2004

    Posts: 5,991

    Location: Telford

    Mine seems to be smoother than beta 1, chrome was janky before but now it's smooth when scrolling.

    Hate the way they've changed the swipe away for notifications.

    I like the ambient display setup now though.
     
  19. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2007

    Posts: 8,972

    Location: UK

    Just downloading a 19mb patch to beta 2.
     
  20. Dangerous

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,521

    Location: Nordschleife


    That's odd they don't normally release mid month updates, I've checked and also got the update.