1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, Feb 8, 2011.

  1. z10m

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 31, 2008

    Posts: 721

    From my experience interleaving is disabled and g.inp enabled after first 48 hours if the line is stable. For noise margin to be dropped to 3db you will have to wait longer.
     
  2. Armadillo

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 29, 2004

    Posts: 3,384

    Seems 48 is the number more or less.

    48 hours of constant sync, line dropped and resynced 10Mb higher at 72462 instead of 62XXX, which is more or less the same as what I got on BT 6DB. Pings to bbc also dropped from 13ms to 5ms, which again is similar to BT.

    Don't know if there is anyway to tell on the sky hub if g.inp is on, instead of guessing. Sky hub is very lacking stats wise comparted to the hg612 :(.

    Throughput doesn't seem any different though. Speed tests are still 60mb give or take and downloads at 7.4MB/s which is the same as when it was synced at 62xxx. I assume the ip profile has not raised yet, although I thought that raises with the sync on fibre.

    Doesn't really matter for now, still fast enough and is clearly sorting itself out over time.

    Now to wait for 3db to come back to me :).
     
    Last edited: May 12, 2019
  3. V_R

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 17, 2007

    Posts: 7,978

    Location: UK

    Nice to see that DLM is seemingly more consistent as I'm just about to move to Plusnet from Zen I think...
     
  4. DBT85

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Midlands

    So I just got the call from Vodafone to tell me they also can't give me fibre because openreach still haven't updated their system to say we can even get fibre from the new cabinet. The one I'm already connected to and already have fibre (40/10) on.

    The DSL checker is all up to date and shows we can get 80/20 but now it's just a guessing game of ordering until openreach pull their thumb out.
     
  5. chris.tarry85

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 29, 2005

    Posts: 323

    Has anyone else noticed that when an ISP increases a price rise, the offers to switch to other ISP's seem to get reduced almost straight away?

    For example, before EE increased the latest price rise, BT were offering a much better deal than the current offer for an Echo or sound bar.

    Oh well, EE only say you have to give notice to leave within 30 days, not actually leave, so I'll hang on until a better offer appears!
     
  6. Avalon

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 4,475

    BT adjust it’s offers across the month based on how many acquisitions it has relative to target. It’s not uncommon to see cashback reduced towards the end of the month on Quidco/TCB.
     
  7. DBT85

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Midlands

    Don't forget that BT owns EE.
     
  8. b0rn2sk8

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2003

    Posts: 4,057

    If you are out of contract you don't need to give notice. Just sign up to the next provider and let them deal with the switch.
     
  9. Armadillo

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 29, 2004

    Posts: 3,384

    Got max sync with 3db profile back. Took a little over a week from switch over and dlm reset to go back to it :). Nice to see dlm being reasonably quick.
     
  10. Adam

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 8,774

    I'm renegotiating my broadband deal moving away from BT to Plusnet. BT has been absolutely solid but now I'm out of contract the monthly cost is significantly higher than the competition.

    One of the final things the BT customer service guy said was that my contention ratio on Plusnet would rise to 50:1 from 20:1 on BT.

    Is there any truth to this? I'm struggling to find anything to prove or disprove this comment.
     
  11. DBT85

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Midlands

    I doubt it. I could be wrong but I'm fairly sure your speeds and everything else are going to be identical.
     
  12. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,027

    I'm with Plusnet and get the maximum my line can support (62/19) at all times of the day. I mainly work from home so it's often in use from 10:00 through to 04:00 the following morning.
     
  13. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 23,073

    Contention ratio isn't a thing that anybody publishes numbers for now - they generally add capacity to stop the links getting too hot, because they know people will just leave if the service is awful.
     
  14. DBT85

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Midlands

    Finally got Vodafone to drop their cease request on my line since they couldn't take it over, and then when I contact sky to upgrade to the new superfast package for £27 their sales system is down. Fml.
     
  15. DBT85

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Midlands

    Sky have finally managed to move me to the superfast package. How long has it taken you guys to see an uplift from 40/10 to 80/20?

    Is it an cabinet cable swap or just something sky do in their system?
     
  16. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 17, 2010

    Posts: 15,518

    Openreach profile change. Shouldn't take more than 48hours max.
     
  17. DBT85

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 8, 2006

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Midlands

    Huzzah.

    And its done. 70/17 on the sky router which I have heard will limit one ip address to 90% of the total available? Router is saying 19000 up and 74000 down.

    It also seems someone made a mistake on my billing as its now just £22 for "sky fibre unlimited" (which I did have but now don't, obvs) and £0 for line rental.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2019