• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

DVI to HDMI for LCD TV quality and questions.

Soldato
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
Ok from my sig you can see my specs. I'm going to uni soon so can't take a big TV with me so I'm going to get the Panasonic TX23LXD60 LCD TV.

Now the problem is that it doesn't have a DVI/VGA connection.
I have seen about the web these DVI to HDMI cables.

Now my question is; Will I loose quality or have any problems (e.g ghosting, washed-out clours) by connecting the DVi to HDMI cable to my TV from my X1900XTX as long as I have the fgraphics card set to 720P output.

Has anyone tried this?

Thanks in advance.



Edit - perhaps this is in the wrong forum, maybe it should be in monitors, I don't know.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
16,561
Yep, I have a DVI > HDMI lead connecting my X1900XT to my LCD TV

It's in 1920x1080 1:1 with absolutely no problems. It's as good as my Dell 20" TFT in terms of quality
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
glen8 said:
Yep, I have a DVI > HDMI lead connecting my X1900XT to my LCD TV

It's in 1920x1080 1:1 with absolutely no problems. It's as good as my Dell 20" TFT in terms of quality

Thank you, sir.

1080P LCD TV? Nice.
 
Associate
Joined
17 May 2006
Posts
116
if its anything like the new samsung lcdtv, the hdmi wont work.

if its a seperate dvi then it will but if its a combined hdmi.dvi then it wont work.

the Resolution will be 1366 x 768, which isnt HD, but u can whack ** g/c on max and it will still look nice.
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
16,561
Danzla said:
if its anything like the new samsung lcdtv, the hdmi wont work.

if its a seperate dvi then it will but if its a combined hdmi.dvi then it wont work.

the Resolution will be 1366 x 768, which isnt HD, but u can whack ** g/c on max and it will still look nice.

Mine works fine but I have a Toshiba not a Samsung
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
16,561
Danzla said:
what toshiba you got?

it displays at 1920x1200? sweet. i thought most LCD`s can only display around 1400x900

1920x1080

No mate, LCDs have come ALONG way this year. In fact, they are just about to overtake Plasma in the quality department. The Sony 'W' range is the very first LCD to beat a plasma

All the latest models coming out are 1920x1080 now

Sony 'W' and 'X' Bravia range
Toshiba 42" and 47" 66 & 68 range (the 37" and lower are still 720)
Samsung 71 (I think) range

I know Sharp have one out but don't know the model number
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
16,561
Danzla said:
if ** using it for a pc that is up close.

ah yes, up close it is. I use mine for PC games when I'm sat in the lounge and it's great (well, games which use a joypad)

for FPS tho I need to be sat as a desk with a keyboard and mouse.
 
Associate
Joined
19 Jan 2006
Posts
736
It will work with the hdmi but you'll have to use 1280x720 which will have to be scaled so you won't get 1:1 pixel mapping, so it won't look ideal.

Can't you get one with a vga input that accepts the native res, like the sony s series or the latest samsungs.
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Sep 2005
Posts
16,561
ugly ferret said:
It will work with the hdmi but you'll have to use 1280x720 which will have to be scaled so you won't get 1:1 pixel mapping, so it won't look ideal.

Can't you get one with a vga input that accepts the native res, like the sony s series or the latest samsungs.

You can get LCDs which do 1080 over HDMI at 1:1 as mine does. Not sure about the OP panny tho
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
ugly ferret said:
It will work with the hdmi but you'll have to use 1280x720 which will have to be scaled so you won't get 1:1 pixel mapping, so it won't look ideal.

Can't you get one with a vga input that accepts the native res, like the sony s series or the latest samsungs.

Scaled to what? The LCD screen is 1366 x 768 pixels. Why can't I have that resolution?
 
Associate
Joined
19 Jan 2006
Posts
736
OzyOly said:
Scaled to what? The LCD screen is 1366 x 768 pixels. Why can't I have that resolution?

Scaled to the native res of course. :) You can't have the native res because hdmi is designed for hdtv signals not pc signals. They can only take 1280x720@60hz (720p) or 1920x1080@30hz (1080i). The only exception is some LG tv's which can take the full range of pc reses over hdmi.

when are they gonna bring out HD LCD tv`s under 26" that are capable of 1920x1200 res

Errrrr .... the dell 2407WFP? :p
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
5 Feb 2006
Posts
3,386
Location
15,000ft.
ugly ferret said:
Scaled to the native res of course. :) You can't have the native res because hdmi is designed for hdtv signals not pc signals. They can only take 1280x720@60hz (720p) or 1920x1080@30hz (1080i). The only exception is some LG tv's which can take the full range of pc reses over hdmi.



Errrrr .... the dell 2407WFP? :p

My graphics card has HDTV settings in CCC, 720p?
 
Back
Top Bottom