1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

enigma@home - Boinc stats team challenge

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Carlos Pinho, Feb 3, 2016.

  1. scole250

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 27, 2014

    Posts: 28

    It runs on my 64 bit linux systems though I did have a problem with the initial setup I was using. Not sure which it was, but I was originally running 64 bit ubuntu server with just the boinc-client package installed. Installed a 64 bit version of mint xfce, installed boinc (the full package which includes boinc manager) and it downloaded and ran enigma just fine.
     
  2. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 4, 2002

    Posts: 15,431

    Location: West Berkshire

    This got things going for me (after a bunch of failed tasks - oops!). Should work on any 64-bit RHEL/CentOS variant:

    Code:
    yum install glibc.i686 libgcc.i686
     
  3. chris182008

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2011

    Posts: 646

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Got my dual x5650s on this now. Will get the rest moved over tomorrow once SAT is finished.
     
  4. drakioned

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 11, 2008

    Posts: 1,169

    Location: London

    Joined in on this.

    How to check ranking within team?
     
  5. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,763

  6. drakioned

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 11, 2008

    Posts: 1,169

    Location: London

    Having some trouble trying to get this running on Linux, any ideas?

    (will have a go when I get home)
     
  7. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,812

    Location: St helens

    which version of Linux? I don't use Linux but some of these guys do and seem to of found the reason / fix

    page 2 shows the version that works - 12.04 x64
     
  8. CaptainUnlikely

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 24, 2011

    Posts: 2,405

    Location: Mansfield

    What distro are you running? Take a look at B1ng's post above, you may need the 32-bit libc/glibc libraries:

    Try installing the lib32-glibc and lib32-glib2 libraries, depending what flavour of Linux you're running the commands will be different but for example, "sudo apt-get install lib32-glibc lib32-glib2"
     
  9. drakioned

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 11, 2008

    Posts: 1,169

    Location: London

    latest Ubuntu Server x64... happy to install anything though
     
  10. CaptainUnlikely

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 24, 2011

    Posts: 2,405

    Location: Mansfield

    Try running
    sudo apt-get install lib32-glibc lib32-glib2
    in a terminal window first, if you still can't get work then you've exhausted my very small amount of knowledge. I have Ubuntu Desktop 14.04.5 LTS x64 crunching quite happily out of the box as does Ba so maybe go with that if you can't get the server edition working, there was mention on the Enigma forum of server distros not getting work but that may be due to them not including the required libraries by default.
     
  11. chris182008

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 8, 2011

    Posts: 646

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Just switched everything over from SAT hope we can catch TSBT.
     
  12. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,812

    Location: St helens

    and here comes the storm , streetlight just signed up aswell.:D
     
  13. Streetlight

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 5, 2010

    Posts: 569

    Location: The Moon

    :D:D:D

    Will try my best, but Won't have everything running on it. Otherwise it keeps tripping my breaker, cant get that sorted for a few weeks. :(:(
     
  14. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 4, 2002

    Posts: 15,431

    Location: West Berkshire

    Uh oh! :(

    Hopefully I've now got enough firepower to keep most of the incoming hordes at bay, but apologies to anyone who gets caught in the crossfire. :)
     
  15. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 3,812

    Location: St helens

    surprised biffa never signed up he's usually all guns blazing

    texas_connection were are you at lol - guess you just read the forum ;)
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2016
  16. Texas_Connectio

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 29, 2012

    Posts: 32

    I'm in.
     
  17. drakioned

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 11, 2008

    Posts: 1,169

    Location: London

  18. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,763

    I thought you would be going up given the number of cores you had :)
    You might possibly get pushed down again as some move over from SAT but there are enough above you who are static that you will quickly stay on the 1st page :):)
     
  19. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 4, 2002

    Posts: 15,431

    Location: West Berkshire

    Up, fast. It's only taken me three days to break into the team top 10, and you've got more (and faster) cores than I.

    If I could subvert our computer room, there'd be hope, but only for as long as it took (a) to be shown the exit door, or (b) for the whole thing to crash, which it does very well and very frequently already.
     
  20. drakioned

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 11, 2008

    Posts: 1,169

    Location: London

    For whatever reason, it didn't like it, so I've installed Windows over the machine now and it's all good.