1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Escape from Tarkov

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Twirlywoos, Nov 25, 2015.

  1. shedlo

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 22, 2010

    Posts: 224

    Location: South West

    Wait times are painful atm, I don't know if its a duo thing as not played solo in a while but waiting over 15 minutes to get on Customs is just no fun, we then tried shoreline and another 15 mins wait! That was it for us then.
    Second night on the trot we haven't been able to duo :( I heard new servers for the weekend so will give it another go then.
     
  2. SixTwoSix

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Rugby

    Apologies as it's an obvious question but are your servers set to automatic in the launcher? This applies to your friend as well. If just one person in the duo/squad has a server(s) selected, it applies to them all.

    We had 3/4 man squads that were joining in under 5 minutes the last few days across all maps.
     
  3. shedlo

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 22, 2010

    Posts: 224

    Location: South West

    We have manually set them to all the low ping servers in the UK/EU. Are you saying we should set them to automatic?
     
  4. SixTwoSix

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Rugby

    Absolutely, you're massively limiting your server selection. Our regulars all use automatic and we rarely get a bad server.
     
  5. CliffyG

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 13,622

    Location: Cambridge

    Yep I was playing solo a bit last night and had no issues. Never waited more than 5 minutes.
     
  6. shedlo

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 22, 2010

    Posts: 224

    Location: South West

    I understand what you're saying but i dont want to end up on high ping servers, ie the us and some of the Russian ones. I will set it back to auto and see if that improves it, i need my Tarkov fix! :)
     
  7. neckbeardthethird

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 9, 2018

    Posts: 1,304

    It's tarkov man, ping is going to be one of the last reasons you die :p

    You will only be put on European servers anyway, you can't play on american, asian servers anymore.

    It's much better to have it set to Auto, most people only change it to specific servers when they want to cheese a challenge with a mate.
     
  8. SixTwoSix

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Rugby

    As above, of the reasons I die in this game, high ping and lag, while occasionally present...are not the causes of my deaths. :D
     
  9. shedlo

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 22, 2010

    Posts: 224

    Location: South West


    Ahh ok, i wasn't really sure how that worked but thanks for clearing it up.

    Ahaha i didn't realise that was a sweaty thing you could do, i'd still fail the challenge anyways :)

    I'll set it back to auto, sounds like that will improve it even though i had selected most of the EU/UK servers manually.
     
  10. G-MAN2004

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 4, 2004

    Posts: 29,840

    Really not sure if to buy this. Been watching some videos and the shooting just looks awful. :confused: I've seen people spray almost full mags into enemies from a few feet away and it didn't kill them. For example, at 4:20 in this vid below:



    What is up with that?
     
  11. prjwebb

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 764

    I have a bunch of the lower ping UK/EU servers selected and my wait times have all been pretty low on PMC runs.
     
  12. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,516

    Hard to tell whats happened there, looking at it they were all body shots (you're better off generally aiming at peoples legs as they have no armour on their legs) , could be that the target guy was wearing Class 5 armour and the guy shooting wasnt using armour piercing ammo or very low quality ammo.

    My advice though would be that if you arent sure about the game (or dont like the looks of it), dont buy it. Wait a long time until you can get it cheap instead. As with Hell Let Loose and Post Scriptum, its generally better for everyone, both buyers and existing players, if those who dont see the appeal refrain from trying. As its very hard to remove any preconceptions or pre-playing negative thoughts and all too easy in things like Tarkov/Hell Let Loose/Post Scriptum to have fairly innocuous things in game seem much worse than they are if the player has gone in already with doubts/negative thoughts.

    (or better still try it on a friends version first before parting with cash)
     
  13. SixTwoSix

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Rugby

    Can't watch the vid as at work but there are so many variables. There are 6 tiers of armor, there are multiple ammo types, there is bullet penetration, fragmentation and flesh damage, it's easy to mag dump into someone and not kill them if your ammo type isn't effective.
     
  14. prjwebb

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 29, 2016

    Posts: 764

    It's a players scav with **** ammo (likely 5.45 PS) shooting a kitted PMC in a class 5 Gen4 Assault armour with full arm, chest and stomach protection. That armour can eat a lot of those rounds.

    Ammo is everything in EFT.
     
  15. tang0

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 12, 2003

    Posts: 3,775

    Yeh, the better the armour the higher the bullet penetration resistance. The cheaper the ammo, the less chance a bullet can penetrate. There's an equation the game does that calculates penetration, basically you need the top tier ammo to have any chance of shooting through an expensive chest armour. Otherwise you aim for the limbs or face.

    Someone with a pistol can take down a fully geared guy just by shooting them in the face though
     
  16. SixTwoSix

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Rugby

    I believe I just got marked and cursed on Interchange.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. CliffyG

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 13,622

    Location: Cambridge

    I thought that only happened to hatchlings?
     
  18. SixTwoSix

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 14, 2007

    Posts: 10,546

    Location: Rugby

    I think Interchange has a chance for it to happen to anyone.

    I only went in with a PP19 which quickly turned into, click, click, empty, panic loot of scavs for another weapon.
     
  19. CliffyG

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 13,622

    Location: Cambridge

    Hmm think I've read about it happening to other people with just a pistol too.
     
  20. Besty

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,405

    Late game Bloodbath on Interchange just now, i spawned in and found 6 bodies all piled outside gun store, they all bought it.

    Main issue with finding this is, you cant really take all the loot.