1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Gibbo is getting an R600!!

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Gibbo, 3 Apr 2007.

  1. mishima

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Dec 2006

    Posts: 4,715

    I would test Oblivion on that card really, It pulls FPS right down because its so demanding. My GTS and others suffer, I wonder if the R600 does - if you can get a copy Gibbo would definately be worth testing.
     
  2. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: 30 Sep 2003

    Posts: 10,912

    Location: London

    Run Oblivion. All SupCom is gonna prove is that quad core CPUs are fast.
     
  3. melbourne720

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Sep 2006

    Posts: 1,945

    Location: West Bridgford

    How about whoever sends Gibbo Oblivion & Stalker gets free delivery on their next order? :D
     
  4. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 34,942

    Location: OcUK HQ

    Hi there

    We also have a few hundred Splinter Cell Double Agent games here. Any good for benchmarking with?
     
  5. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    Thats if you can get the game to work :p
     
  6. jrodga2k5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 28 Oct 2005

    Posts: 8,845

    Location: Scotland

    I believe poorly ported game but would certainly be worth a go
     
  7. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,495

    You using the 101.70s under Vista? With these I'm getting slightly higher figures than with the 97.72s under XP (Opty 165 @ 2.8Ghz, 8800GTS @ 640/2000)
     
  8. bfar

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Jul 2004

    Posts: 2,481

    Agreed. Alot of it comes down to how well they're designed and coded.

    With tight budgets and deadlines its becomming very common. Some of the biggest games were quite buggy on release - FEAR, Farcry, Halflife2, Dark Messiah to name but a few.

    And lets face it, we're a largely tolerent consumer group - we're going out and buying badly coded games!

    In STALKER's case I think it didn't help that its been flung around differnet development teams and has had parts of its original design cropped.
     
  9. FirebarUK

    Soldato

    Joined: 9 Dec 2004

    Posts: 5,662

    Location: Dorset

    I never found HL2 to be buggy :confused:
     
  10. melbourne720

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 26 Sep 2006

    Posts: 1,945

    Location: West Bridgford

    Until I got an 8800 GTS lol :D

    edit: carp Source Fog joke...
     
    Last edited: 10 Apr 2007
  11. spb251272

    Hitman

    Joined: 4 Oct 2004

    Posts: 734

    Location: Manchester

    It was at the beginning - it used to have problems with stuttering that were solved with a patch after a month or so. I think it was down to some sort of prefetching - a bit like one of the reported probs with Stalker. I've disabled prefetching in Stalker, which means quicker load times, and no crashes so far (on 101.70 in Vista).
     
  12. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

    HOLD ON! What system and can I buy it from you? Nearly 12k 06 Marks...YES PLEASE !! :D
     
  13. afraser2k

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,518

    Location: Glasgow

    Obviously the fault of PC hardware not being up to the job of running it. ;)
     
  14. Tombo

    Soldato

    Joined: 10 Dec 2006

    Posts: 6,531

    Location: Tefal's Kitchen

    lol ubisoft.
     
  15. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,062

    Location: In a house

    Its a shame the top end R600's are still an 80nm process when the mid/low range cards will be on a 65nm.
     
  16. jaykay

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Nov 2006

    Posts: 1,410

    Location: Wales, Cardiff

    what about call of duty 2
    that game pushes graphics alot and looks good compared to todays games
     
  17. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,011

    Location: UK PLC

    ArmA at high res with full view distance and all settings to max, 16xAA/AF. I doubt quad SLI would be able to hit 30fps on that.

    That doesnt push a 8800gtx
     
  18. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,062

    Location: In a house

    Its also capped at 60fps. :)
     
  19. pegasus1

    Soldato

    Joined: 27 Dec 2003

    Posts: 5,011

    Location: UK PLC

    COD2 or ArmA, i presume COD2.
     
  20. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jul 2003

    Posts: 30,062

    Location: In a house

    Yeah sorry, CoD2. :p