Gin recommendations?

Commissario
I'm a newbie when it comes to drinking gin. When on holiday earlier in GU this year I bought some Blue Bottle gin purely on the name and the shape of the bottle.

MhcGTwd.jpeg

This only got opened a couple of weeks ago but I've already almost emptied it. I think it's very good (at £40 for the bottle, it needed to be)

I don't want to go overboard on gin in the same way I've done with rum but I'd like some recommendations as to what gin to buy next based on the fact that I really like this Blue Bottle gin.

By coincidence I won a trip around the Silent Pool gin distillery (along with a £50 voucher to spend in their shop) at our work Christmas party so I'm now looking forward to getting that booked. When I won it, I was a complete gin virgin, having never touched a drop of it in my life.

Over to you, OcUK gin drinkers.

Associate
Blue Bottle is good stuff. The cheapest place I’ve found to buy it is at Guernsey airport duty free.

The other local gin, Wheadon’s, is nice too - especially the pink grapefruit one.

Others I like are Caorunn and Strathearn Oaked Highland gin.

Soldato
I've been going through a bottle of Rock Rose recently, a very punchy gin I would recommend.

For a very crisp G&T I would suggest Caorunn.

Bathtub Gin is also great but I think it goes better in a short cocktail rather than a G&T.

Soldato
I came in to suggest Ophir too. Very nice. Recommending a gin nowadays is a bit like recommending a whiskey. There's so much choice and they're all so different!

Associate
I know that Blue Bottle is cheaper in the airport but whenever I go to GU, I go by boat so I don't get to take advantage of the duty free. It's a shame.

It’s worst the boats mess you about! If you’re lucky, the Liability will do a whole crossing without breaking down...

It does seem a bit daft though buying Blue Bottle at the airport to take off the island and then bring it back again! Which all falls over if you’re not checking a bag!

Commissario