HDD or SSD for games

Soldato
Yo,

So I have a 500GB SSD specifically for games, and I can only really get a handful on it these days, and I'm terrible for picking random games to play and not sticking to a couple only. And living out in the sticks, deleting and uninstalling is out of the question as it takes an age!

Anyway, I could snap up a 4TB HDD to put alongside the SSD and use the 4TB drive for the majority of games, such as Skyrim, Mass Effect etc, stuff that doesn't really depend upon read speeds. And use the SSD for online games like For Honor, BF1 etc.

Or is it not worth getting a mechanical drive? Will I regret going back to a 7,200rpm drive? It's read is 172mb/s, which, once you take the marketing guff off. It's realistically something like 150mb/s.

Unsure!

Soldato
OP
If your broadband connection is slow you can keep a library of games on a mech drive and move them over to your ssd when you want to play.

I work in IT, the main priority for my home PC is to get it working so I never have to tinker with it. The idea of having to transfer files back and forth is just a pain in the arse that I'd rather avoid.

Associate
Then you'll know about robocopy. There are also other tools to do it for you.

Having the files somewhere local versus having to download them again on a poop connection is a no-brainier surely?

Definitely stay with an SSD. If you possibly can, get another SSD to install games onto.

How have you managed to fill 500GB? I have about 10 games installed, plus windows, Photoshop, a few other things, still plenty room left. I'm assuming you've redirected all your docs, music, videos, temp folders, page file etc onto a mechanical HDD to save space?

Soldato
SSD for everything except documents and downloads. I got a 1TB drive and never really have to mess around uninstalling or reinstalling. Got about 110 games installed.

Don