1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IIyama 40" 4k VA monitor

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by VEGACORTEZ, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. Gunzta

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2016

    Posts: 6

    Screen arrived on Friday, didn't have much time to play with it over weekend until now. I'm very happy. Fantastic screen for the price. I might even go so far as to say it might be better than the Philips 40 inch. :) Gaming seems fine at 1440p with my 970 which will do until I get around to getting a 1080. All in all super chuffed with it.

    Thank you.
     
  2. InfernoUk

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 13, 2008

    Posts: 650

    Hey guys

    Just looking at picking up this screen later today!

    I was wondering, the only game i play is overwatch, is the response time that much of an issue for games?

    I currently play on a 34" LG ultrawide which doesnt have the greatest of input lag times, but ive never had issue with it in games, so im wondering if the 4K screens being slow is more overhyped than anything?

    Any other issues with the screen?

    Cheers
     
  3. djxput

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 17, 2011

    Posts: 1,203

    I think your input lag will be the same with both panels~ if you have http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/reviews/lg_34um95.htm
    says 24 ms If I remember right this is about 24-27 somewhere in there.
     
  4. InfernoUk

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 13, 2008

    Posts: 650

    Thanks, yeah with my own research i was finding they were meant to be similar, i just wondered if the slight difference would be noticeable!
     
  5. InfernoUk

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 13, 2008

    Posts: 650

    Hi guys

    I just took delivery of this monitor, im using display port for signal. I cant get it to work at 60hz?

    Am i missing a setting or something? It is stuck at 30hz... cheers

    edit: here are my settings screen shots to illustrate the issue

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2016
  6. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,390

    Location: Edinburgh

    So dp1.2 is correct, have you set the monitor to 60hz in windows as well?
     
  7. InfernoUk

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 13, 2008

    Posts: 650

    I wasn't aware that was a thing? Isn't it auto detection on the side of the monitor? All previous screens have defaulted to 60
     
  8. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,390

    Location: Edinburgh

    Is it possible to overclock this monitor?
     
  9. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,390

    Location: Edinburgh

    I had to do it on mine which was weird as my previous 4k monitor automatically put itself on 60hz when I changed the monitor settings.

    Have you tried and does it work now?
     
  10. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,885

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Think I had mine to 66 with no probs? The Philips did 72 which was nice :)
     
  11. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,390

    Location: Edinburgh

    Meh not much point then really lol

    Not that it is needed but if something can be tinkered with, why not ha
     
  12. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 20,885

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    Tbf it was a nice smoothness boost for the Philips. Iiyama? Not so much :D
     
  13. InfernoUk

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 13, 2008

    Posts: 650

    i did manage to fix the problem thanks, windows was set at 30hz for whatever reason!

    I was wondering, do you guys know of any recommended settings for the screen in terms of colour and brightness? Im not great at knowing whats optimal!
     
  14. PoolG

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 25, 2010

    Posts: 58

    Bought the Philips a couple of weeks back. No burn in issues for me.
     
  15. shamus21

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 29, 2004

    Posts: 1,642

    Location: Alpha centauri

    If overclockers drop the price on the Liyama pro lite backdown to 450.00 I am going to take chance on one, just hope I get a good one so I don`t have to waste lots of time.