1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IIyama 40" 4k VA monitor

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by VEGACORTEZ, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,430

    Location: Edinburgh

    I am planning on buying it at midnight tonight for Saturday delivery :p

    Cant effin wait!
     
  2. Montala

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 8, 2005

    Posts: 2,842

    Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)

    Just a bit curious as to why you have to wait until midnight to order it though?
     
  3. JediFragger

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 22,189

    Location: y0 Momma's a$$

    At a guess? Payday

    Or a severe case of OCD where he can only order stuff dead on Midnight :D

    But I'm going with funds arriving...
     
  4. Montala

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 8, 2005

    Posts: 2,842

    Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)

    You could well be right... I hadn't thought of that!

    I have obviously been retired for too long! ;)
     
  5. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,430

    Location: Edinburgh

    Payday indeed :) 00:27 on the dot lol!!!
     
  6. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,430

    Location: Edinburgh

    Ordered and accepted :) oooooooooooo
     
  7. FrankJH

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jun 6, 2005

    Posts: 22,202

    Really liking this screen apart from two "annoyances";

    1) It appears the remote is useless for switching to another input manually unless the original input device is on at the time ( Ie trying to switch from a PS4 on HDMI to a pc on DP and it wont change input , or even bring up any menu at all unless the PS4 is powered up to start with).

    2) Maybe its just me, but this is incredibly bizarre to me - monitor is off (again , last used on HDMI input) and all devices off. Switch the DP device (w10 pc) on, and the monitor comes on as if a signal is recieved - all good so far - apart from it never changes input and "no signal recieved" flashes up and after a minute just switches off /goes to sleep. This is the worst of both worlds, as it were (especially with a new monitor and you are unaware of its foibles), thinking the device is faulty as the monitor is picking up a signal but there is no output at all, and picking up a signal but not switching to the output required

    I know there is the "auto" input setting, but always found this can be slow to switch especially when watching the BIOS is crucial when building a pc.
     
  8. Gunzta

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2016

    Posts: 6

    I have the Philips and I've just ordered the Iiyama, so when it arrives I will do a comparison for you if that helps? :)
     
  9. Dr. Mario

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 7, 2016

    Posts: 19

    In case you weren't aware. Philips is fighting back with the 43" BDM4350UC. Which has an IPS panel.
     
  10. Gunzta

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2016

    Posts: 6

    and it's had so many problems, that its been temporarily delisted/removed from the Philips website, presumably while they resolve the issues with the panel burn in that so many people are having.

    from a thread on another forum, not sure if I'm allowed to post a link here.
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016
  11. Dr. Mario

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 7, 2016

    Posts: 19

    It's still for sale though.
    And not all monitors have the burn-in issue.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2016
  12. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,430

    Location: Edinburgh

    really enjoying this monitor so far, and I am used to the size now :) Quite hard to go to work though and sit at that computer all day lol!
     
  13. Gunzta

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2016

    Posts: 6

    no, but with such a high failure rate, purchasing now would be a total gamble I can do without. I'm already seeing certain retailers being awkward about these issues.
     
  14. Gunzta

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2016

    Posts: 6

    Looking forward to mine arriving in the morning. :)
     
  15. Dr. Mario

    Associate

    Joined: Jan 7, 2016

    Posts: 19

    Like I said before not everyone is experiencing the burn-in issue.
    And similarly the Iiyama X4071UHSU-B1 has its own issues.
    People pick what rough edges (and sometimes even sharp edges) they can live with.
    This review states clearly that the burn-in is a temporary image retention, and that they did not experience it throughout their period with the monitor. Neither did one of my friends, who is a coder, and displays an IDE window all the time (with always on power settings) in the middle of the screen. Also when he goes for a break.
    From the review:
    Where I live, it's possible to send back things you buy within the first 14 days after receipt. Most of the time shop keepers extend this to 31 days, or longer. And returned products are not recycled to other buyers as new.
    I feel sorry that that is not possible for you.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2016
  16. GAM8LE

    Soldato

    Joined: May 11, 2014

    Posts: 5,430

    Location: Edinburgh

    You won't be disappointed. Internet surfing/movies/gaming is just perfect on this screen.

    Only thing is, solid 60fps is needed on games to make this screen worth it but luckily it scales down well on some games to 1440p.
     
  17. Gunzta

    Associate

    Joined: May 25, 2016

    Posts: 6

    I agree that every set has its issues, but I think it's fair to say the Philips is experiencing more than normal early on in its lifecycle, either way it's enough of an issue to make me spend my money on a different monitor and I'm happy with that.

    No need to feel sorry for me, I have the same distance selling regulations as you my friend, just mine comes with less sarcasm. :D

    Thanks for the info, it will be mostly used for professional music production but I've got a 970 which is fine until the 1080 turns up at some point down the road. :)

    I have the Philips 40 inch that I use for music production with 2 other 40 inch 1080p panels. Absolutely fantastic to have that much space for the arrange window. Highly recommended.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2016
  18. djkav

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 28, 2006

    Posts: 2,958

    Has anyone tried using a custom resolution 3840 x 1620 for 21:9 on a 40" 4k screen?

    Would a 980ti be able to drive that res @ 60 fps?
     
  19. Spit

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 8, 2003

    Posts: 6,448

    Location: Yorkshire

    Love that setup Gunzta :)
     
  20. Roger Ramjet

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 17, 2014

    Posts: 60

    Yes, I always play Witcher 3 at (3840 x 1648) on my 40" 4K. Average about 45 fps with my 980ti with most settings turned up but hair works off.