1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is the AppleTV 4K worth it still?

Discussion in 'Apple Hardware' started by JunglistE, Aug 11, 2019.

  1. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2004

    Posts: 4,545

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    You've mis-read.... I'm talking about 50 FPS.... NOT hz. That's the difference. And aptv can't do it.
     
  2. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 16, 2002

    Posts: 27,233

    Location: In the radio shack

    Frames per second and hertz (Hz) are the same thing.

    To clarify, one hertz is one cycle per second.

    So fifty hertz is fifty cycles per second, the same as fifty frames per second.
     
  3. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,842

    Location: North West

    This is incorrect -
    I think and I’m happy to be corrected - you are confusing the fact that BT don’t offer 4K 50fps on the atv with the fact that the ATV can do it.
     
  4. MOOGLEYS

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 24, 2004

    Posts: 16,672

    Location: Telford

    It can do it just the BT Sport App does not support it. That’s not really a fault of the ATV 4K hardware unless I’m missing something. Is it the HLG codec or something ?
     
  5. TALON1973

    Mobster

    Joined: Jul 28, 2004

    Posts: 4,545

    Location: llanelli , south wales

    Taken from btsports forum.....

    “On ATV4K, if you hardset the resolution to 1080 and have match content for dynamic range and frame rate enabled, then when you click the 'tile' to access the BT Sport Ultimate stream you will get 1080 50 FPS HDR10.

    If you hardset the resolution to 4K, then when click the Ultimate stream 'tile' you will get 4K 50 FPS SDR.

    The ATV4K CANNOT do 4K HDR/DV at greater than 30 FPS.

    The ATV4K can do 4K HDR/DV at 24/25/30 FPS.

    If match frame rate is enabled then when the ATV4K is doing 4K HDR 25 FPS, then refresh rate of the device is 50hz and each frame is shown twice. Similarly when it's doing 4K HDR 30 FPS then the refresh rate is 60hz with each frame being shown twice.

    Hopefully this clears everything up. “
     
  6. b0rn2sk8

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 9, 2003

    Posts: 4,915

    Don’t you need HDMI 2.1 to do 4k60HDR? It’s basically a brand new standard.

    2.0 (a) added 4k60 (b) added HDR but to do both you need 2.1.

    ATV is HDMI 2.0 as are most TVs unless you bought a high end set this year.
     
  7. Robert

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 14,842

    Location: North West

    Interesting. How do you access the “ultimate” tile? Is it available on devices?
     
  8. Chris1712

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jul 29, 2004

    Posts: 8,764

    Location: Somerset

    HDMI 2.0 is fine for 4k60, as indeed consoles pump it out no problem. 4k60 HDR BT Sport works great on my Xbox One X.

    What time of year did the ATV come out? I still kind of fancy one, but hope that a new revision is due with proper bitstream audio support?
     
  9. JunglistE

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 11, 2015

    Posts: 4,387

    Location: Bristol

    I think that they come out around September. But I'm not sure
     
  10. Clov!s

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2011

    Posts: 17,560

    Location:

    The Apple TV 4K came out September 2017 so it’ll be 3 years old this September coming.

    Good chance it’ll get a refresh then. :)
     
  11. jpaul

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 1, 2010

    Posts: 8,851

  12. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 30, 2005

    Posts: 11,384

    I bought an Apple TV over the weekend mainly for the homekit hub feature, can't say I'm overly impressed to be honest.

    The remote is pretty awful, it's not as fast and fluid as I'd hoped. Launching apps doesn't seem any quicker than my 2017 Samsung TV.

    My main issue with it, is that last night whilst watching the morning show it must have stopped and buffered five times. I also seemed to have a crash where trying to go back to the home menu would just show in a grey screen. Had to pull the power cable about the back in the end. Then it seemed to want to stick on 1080p, took me ages before I could select the 4k, but after doing that, going back to the home menu seemed to show a black screen for 10 seconds.

    Not sure it was worth the £179 I paid!

    Regarding 4k HDR at 60hz. The ATV can do it. There's a thread on AVS forums which shows it working.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020 at 8:01 AM
  13. Clov!s

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2011

    Posts: 17,560

    Location:

    My Apple TV 4K has been set to 4K HDR 60Hz since the day I got it.
     
  14. beachBOYken

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 18, 2007

    Posts: 9,420

    Location: London

    I have mine set to 4K SDR 50Hz, thats what was recommended on another forum, think that's only for the menus anyway, I have the match frame/content enabled as well.
     
  15. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 16, 2003

    Posts: 8,584

    Location: Nottingham

    Yeah as stated you really should set the default to SDR and have match dynamic range and match frame rate enabled otherwise you're viewing SDR content in HDR which is wrong.
     
  16. Clov!s

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2011

    Posts: 17,560

    Location:

    I only watched HDR content anyway. :)
     
  17. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 30, 2005

    Posts: 11,384

    When having it set to this, is it normal when viewing say BBC iplayer that the ATV goes blank for a few seconds, then the same when returning back to the menu?
     
  18. beachBOYken

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Feb 18, 2007

    Posts: 9,420

    Location: London

    Yes thats normal, I watch Netflix and when I watch stuff and then back out of a TV show/movie the screen will go blank for a second or so, I presume thats where It's just matching the current content displayed with that setting set.
     
  19. Broken Hope

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 16, 2003

    Posts: 8,584

    Location: Nottingham

    iPlayer stuff will be 50Hz so if your display setting is 60Hz it will switch which blanks the display, same for 24Hz content

    HDMI 2.1 has a new feature called Quick Media Switching which should prevent this when we have HDMI 2.1 devices.

    https://www.hdmi.org/spec21Sub/QuickMediaSwitching
     
  20. TheOracle

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 30, 2005

    Posts: 11,384

    I'll need to check, but I'm pretty sure it's set at 4k SDR 50Hz