1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Minecraft

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by mushtafa, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. Thesman106

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 11, 2017

    Posts: 103

    Might as well get the java edition really. Java itself ain't that bad perse, but does have it issues. If you're kid is into modding, they'll be more fun to be had over at the java edition.

    The only real appeal to the windows edition is the vr, which was quite terrible really when I last used it. Windows 10 edition generally feels like a stripped down version of the java edition with the addition of native controller and vr support.
     
  2. dirtybeatfreak

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 25, 2006

    Posts: 4,069

    I disagree with this part :p Most of the modpacks are on launchers like the Twitch client which keep it all up to date and give you the choice to update only if you want to. This comes with warnings and backup options if there's any chance of corruption. It's simply a case of choose the one you want. Click install then press play when it's done. No other tweaking needed. They can all also be played offline perfectly fine once they been downloaded.
     
  3. dirtybeatfreak

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 25, 2006

    Posts: 4,069

    There is a Java version with VR which works really well which you can also play full modpacks on. Vivecraft I think is the name (I haven't tried it for a while and may have changed name since Vives are old VR tech now).
     
  4. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 18,308

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Yeah and most modpacks aren't updated when the client is, which means you end up running an old client (which causes problems online) or multiple clients to keep track of it all. The console/mobile/win10 ecosystem is SOO much less hassle.
     
  5. Greboth

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 6, 2010

    Posts: 4,820

    Location: Birmingham

    You obviously haven't used MultiMC then. I have saves for vanilla 1.12, 1.13 and 1.15 worlds aswell as All The Mods 3, CrackPack 3, FTB Beyond, FTB Direwolf20, TekTopia, Sky Factory 3 and Sky Factory 4 all in one client launcher. Click to launch any and it loads that version - no need for 'old' launchers or multiple lauchers. 3 clicks to set up a new vanilla world and 10 for modded - not sure I'd call that hassle.
     
  6. dirtybeatfreak

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 25, 2006

    Posts: 4,069

    :confused::confused: Why do the modpacks need to be updated when the client is? The modpacks receive updates when the modpack author releases them. All the client does is download and install them for you, just like steam does I guess. When you click play it just launches the mod/modpack. If you want to play old versions and not update it wont unless you tell it too. The whole idea behind it is to make it 'one-click' play and in my experience works perfectly??

    Have you actually used the Twitch client for modded minecraft?? (that sounds a lot more passive aggressive than I intended but can't think how to word that lol apologies)

    EDIT: As above, MultiMC is another great modded minecraft client which makes it all very easy.
     
  7. Thesman106

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 11, 2017

    Posts: 103

    Oh i gotta try this then, I can already imagine myself getting motion sickness with random mods
     
  8. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 18,308

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    Of course I've used it. It's a wonderful example of managing multiple clients. One for x mod pack, one for y, one for z, one to play online ...

    Mods break when new client updates are released. Mods aren't updated straight away, so you have to either wait for your mods to update, or carry on without them. When it comes to mod packs, it's just the same. Except now you're waiting on a mod pack author to release an update after one or more of the mods it contains has been updated. At best that's no better is it? So fine, don't update the client then, exept now you can't play online unless a server happens to support your client version.

    Now you may be happy managing that and using multimc and that's fine, but bedrock edition doesnt have any of those issues. It's just easier. No amount of arguing is going to change my mind, I've dabble with Minecraft for 10 years now - I can see the advantages and disadvantages of each platform for what they are.
     
  9. dirtybeatfreak

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 25, 2006

    Posts: 4,069

    No one is arguing, at least I wasn't? I too have been playing since 2010 and was just pointing out that in my opinion Bedrock is not any easier than Java if you use clients (the whole point of clients being about making mods etc easy), but if you find Java difficult/more effort then fair enough. My eight year old nephew manages the Twitch client just fine, but we're not all the same I guess? :confused:

    EDIT: reading this back to myself I did have a long winded reply explaining my point, but in hindsight, judging the tone of your first reply, you aren't really going to listen so I'll just leave the first bit in.

    All I was trying to get across is, that some people find the Java side of it just as easy and you get the benefit of a lot more mods/content.
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2020
  10. james.miller

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2003

    Posts: 18,308

    Location: Woburn Sand Dunes

    No, I'm not. I never once mentioned launchers. The client is the main executable.

    That's not a client, it's just an app.
    I didn't mention playing on modded servers, that's another aspect of Java that doesn't factor in bedrock.
     
  11. dirtybeatfreak

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 25, 2006

    Posts: 4,069

    Granted, the twitch 'client' is called an app. They have always been referred to as clients on places like the FTB forums or Reddits, but fair enough.

    Either way my point still stands. They still launch what Mojang calls the Minecraft launcher, modified or not.
     
  12. AHarvey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 6, 2008

    Posts: 9,970

    Location: Stoke area

    honestly, after having to deal with their customer support I wouldn't bother.

    Beginning of Dec I emailed about moving my old account to a new one, chased at the end of Dec,
    4 weeks ago they requested all the information I'd sent in Dec.
    2 weeks ago "what was your transaction ID?" which i'd sent twice already
    1 week ago, we can't find it. Despite sending a screenshot of the message I had when I first purchased it.
     
  13. Thesman106

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 11, 2017

    Posts: 103

    Just for clarification, why would want to move account to a new one?
     
  14. AHarvey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 6, 2008

    Posts: 9,970

    Location: Stoke area

    I believe it was bought out and all the old original accounts had to be migrated over to the new company. You now need a Mojang account
     
  15. Thesman106

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 11, 2017

    Posts: 103

    Are you talking about owning the Java version and getting access to the windows version?

    I still have access to my java account and can play on it whenever I want. I did redeem the free windows 10 version but I think that was a limited time deal
     
  16. garsands

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 29, 2009

    Posts: 1,663

    Thanks
     
  17. garsands

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 29, 2009

    Posts: 1,663

    It still works! Thank goodness it took me awhile to thank james.miller. Just saved £45 as I have two java accounts so I can now get my daughter a copy now. thanks
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2020
  18. Thesman106

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 11, 2017

    Posts: 103

    Not too sure how I helped, but sure. Have fun!
     
  19. Drukk

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 5, 2006

    Posts: 944

    If you redeem the windows 10 version via your mojang account does it take the Java version off you?
     
  20. garsands

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 29, 2009

    Posts: 1,663

    You still get to keep on old Java version.