1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

*** Official Ubiquiti Discussion Thread ***

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by RoyMi6, Apr 10, 2016.

Tags:
  1. Psycho Sonny

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 21, 2006

    Posts: 30,185

    Already went with upstairs landing ;-)
     
  2. memyselfandi

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 10, 2005

    Posts: 8,437

    Location: Nottingham

    I don't use the USG for internal DNS at all for lab or other internal services. Just use a linux box running Bind for the couple of DNS domains I use internally (different ones for lab and non-lab).
     
  3. ChrisD.

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 22,873

    Yeah I am considering installing BIND on my Ubuntu VM which runs the Controller.
     
  4. platypus

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 25, 2003

    Posts: 38,890

    Location: Rhône-Alpes+Cambridge

    Well blow me down, someones actually started installing FTTP in Cambridge at a reasonable price too for 1Gb (though I'd probably go even cheaper as I've no real need for that). I've no real experience of it but they terminate in house with a Genexis Fibertwist: https://genexis.eu/content/uploads/2016/07/FiberTwist-brochure_2019.pdf. Any thoughts why that wouldn't work well with Unifi? I know the usg has limited throughput so would probably need to think about that if we do get it.
     
  5. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    So I am seriously considering a 2nd Gen controller from Unifi....but unsure why there is so little price difference between the two offerings?

    The UCK-G2 is retailing at around £200
    The UCK-G2-PLUS (which I am assuming is superior with its built in HDD/UPS etc) is around £179

    Is there something about the G2 which is superior to the Plus that I am missing?
     
  6. ChrisD.

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 22,873

    Why don't you run the controller on a VM or something? Mine's on a Ubuntu VM and it's very quick. Or run it on a Pi?

    Also new firmware out for switches, AP's and USG's were released over the weekend. No issues at home on the following:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    Good to know about the new firmware.

    Not really interested in a DIY solution and find the hassle of using a windows PC to intermittently manage the network a pain. Just didn’t make sense that the controller with HDD and video surveillance capability is virtually the same price as the other one.
     
  8. ChrisD.

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 22,873

    A Pi is what, £30 or so and will do everything that you need.
     
  9. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    I guess if there is a step by step guide it might be worth looking into.

    EDIT - I see there are plenty of guides out there...will give this a go...thanks :)
     
  10. ChrisD.

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 22,873

    A quick Google and you'll see plenty of guides. Not too difficult to get it up and running.
     
  11. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    Thanks, I shall find out tomorrow when it arrives!
     
  12. Kol

    Don

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 13,438

    Location: London

    Yea, it's easy mate (and that's for me, who's useless at this stuff).
     
  13. Simon42

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 11, 2006

    Posts: 655

    I seem to be the odd one out with my view, which is even with the negligible price difference I think the standard Gen 2 CK is better if the UniFi CCTV capability isn't essential.

    For me that's because for CCTV use the CPU/HD bay size/software aren't up to the job and require Ubiquiti cameras, and when not using the CCTV features the hard disk is just one more thing to fail and makes the controller much larger.
     
  14. Terrier_Jimlad

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2006

    Posts: 2,648

    Location: Yorkshire

    I think it was priced like that because of stock shortages, they still seem hard to get a hold of where as the Plus is readily available. Unless you're going to use Protect and make use of the internal disk, I would just go with the standard G2 - UniFi Video is still being supported and updated with bug and security fixes, just not feature updates.

    I ran a controller on my main Windows box for a while, but didn't like the fact it had to be constantly running to capture stats etc - I had a hosted controller on Vultr too as I had some spare credits, and then I was about to buy a Raspberry Pi to stick it on dedicated and found a original cloud key on eBay that seemed to have little interest, so stuck a bid in for £50 and won it for £39 - given a B+ with case and adapter and stuff ends up at roughly the same price, it was a no brainer.

    Both Chris @ Cross Talk and Willie Howe both have really good guides on how to get the controller on to a VPS or Raspberry Pi, it's really straight forward.
     
  15. Kol

    Don

    Joined: Jan 8, 2003

    Posts: 13,438

    Location: London

    Chris at Cross Talk is a very good recommendation. I followed his guide to run it in docker on my Synology. Makes things very easy to follow.
     
  16. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    Thank you...does seem to make it much easier to follow. I’ll let you guys know how I get on and whether it was a wise £150 saved!
     
  17. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    All setup on the Pi...working well, thank you!

    Only slight issue is that I have got Eth0 setup as 192.168.0.240 (static IP) and Wlan0 as 192.168.0.236

    I can Putty through to the 240 address no problems but the Unifi page only works in Chrome via Wlan. I was hoping to disable the Wireless and just access the controller via ethernet. Any ideas as to what is going wrong?

    EDIT - things have taken a turn for the worst! I used the migration option to load my backup from my windows controller...now the unifi homepage won't let me log in to the controller using my user/pass and the windows controller thinks the devices are being migrated...help!
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  18. the-evaluator

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 24, 2015

    Posts: 1,497

    If you've restored a backup then that the controller on the Pi should import the user credentials from that backup so if you had different credentials set on the Windows and Pi controllers, try using the Windows server credentials.

    It's normal that the Windows controller is saying the devices are being migrated, the controller on the Pi is taking control. Personally I'd disable the controller on the Windows box before importing the backup into the Pi controller.

    I'm sure there's a way to control which interfaces the controller listens on, from memory it's in system.properties but I can't get at my controller to look. Edit - Have a look at this page for system_ip.
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
  19. Type_R

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,047

    Location: EGBB

    Thanks that’s useful to know.

    A quick google suggests that migrating is a bad idea...corruption is rife. They suggest to setup a new controller then restore. Will try again!
     
  20. Terrier_Jimlad

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 4, 2006

    Posts: 2,648

    Location: Yorkshire

    Factory reset your devices and just adopt them in to the new fresh controller - it should only take you 10 mins to set everything back up and you can still have your Windows controller running in the background to copy the settings from, then uninstall it. Really wouldn't bother trying to migrate