1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**** Please enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account ****

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Feek, 14 Oct 2021.

  1. Werewolf

    Commissario

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 30,385

    Location: Panting like a fiend

    I would use the app and backup alone, as that gives maximum protection (if someone is in your email account then email based 2fa is not going to do much).
     
  2. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    That's great, a massive told you so moment. :D
     
  3. Timber

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,487

    Location: South East England

    Thank you, amended my profile to auth app + backup codes.
     
  4. Nevakonaza

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Jan 2009

    Posts: 5,750

    Oh god, I had nothing but issues with the 2FA stuff and that google authenticator rubbish that never worked for me :(
     
  5. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    What do you mean it never worked?
     
  6. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 234,232

    Location: In the radio shack

    Ten seconds once a month per device is irritating?
     
  7. Jimbeam3678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Dec 2002

    Posts: 18,605

    Location: North Yorkshire

    Times how many devices you have. I would say tedious as opposed to irritating, I have it enabled as I’d happily do tedious over the hassle of having any account compromised
     
  8. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: 14 Apr 2009

    Posts: 4,445

    Location: Cheshire

    About time. I have grips about any site that is only password based. One less to worry about. Will enable over the weekend.
     
  9. Nevakonaza

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Jan 2009

    Posts: 5,750

    I cant recall what it was now, but i had something else ask me to set up 2FA and use google authenticator, So i did..it was useless, id scan the code and it just wouldn't do anything.

    Hopefully this is not the case with overclockers, as id not want to loose MM access due to it not working for me.
     
  10. Rainmaker

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Aug 2007

    Posts: 9,070

    Location: Liverpool

    It takes less than two seconds with a password manager. Just click the TOTP button to put the correct number into your clipboard (it's the clock on the right, in this case), and then paste the number into the form and you're done.

    [​IMG]
     
  11. Jimbeam3678

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Dec 2002

    Posts: 18,605

    Location: North Yorkshire

    To unlock your vault assuming you are using a strong password takes longer than 2 seconds .... On mobile/tablet its just well.. tedious as I said. I'm all for cyber security I touched on it for 6 months in my old job. Original point was it would be better if it was every 60 days or something like that. Convivence and secure is a fine line to balance otherwise you have people not enabling extra layers of security as has been proven in this thread.
     
  12. Rainmaker

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Aug 2007

    Posts: 9,070

    Location: Liverpool

    You unlock your vault once at the start of browsing, or leave it unlocked but rely on the OS for security (i.e. lock screen, sleep). After that it's instant access. On mobile I click the login button, my face gets scanned in half a second and the number is put in for me - even easier.
     
  13. Neil79

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Sep 2006

    Posts: 35,755

    Location: On Ocuk

    Umm it's asked for my QR code again, this is the second time in a week! Already set to 60 days, and no I haven't changed IP or phone device
     
  14. ShiWarrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: 20 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,215

    Location: Oxon

    i didn't realise we could do these now, thanks for the heads up
     
  15. Feek

    Commissario

    Joined: 16 Oct 2002

    Posts: 234,232

    Location: In the radio shack

    You should only be asked for your six digit numeric code every 30 days. If you're being prompted more often then you're doing something with cookies.
     
  16. Somnambulist

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jun 2010

    Posts: 11,711

    Location: London

    Done. Have Authy installed on my phone for Kraken etc so no big deal adding this to it.
     
  17. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    They probably clearing them or using private browsing, or logging in via a vpn that's changing constantly.
     
  18. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 9,230


    How to become a Internet god:

    * 2FA or 3FA on everything
    * Password generator on everything
    * Email forwarding generator on everything
    * VPN everything
    * Ad block everything
    * Encrypt everything
     
  19. Bouton Aide

    Suspended

    Joined: 9 Aug 2008

    Posts: 29,796

    You can be even more of a god by saying "MFA on everything" instead of "FA or 3FA on everything. This covers the people who has more than 2FA enabled accounts. :p
     
  20. Valo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,630

    Location: Livingston

    Already had 2FA enabled but thanks for the heads up.