1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Measure twice cut once! (56k no!)

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by matt100, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. ***F1ZZY***

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 5, 2004

    Posts: 640

    Location: Wiltshire

    Shooting through and missing components isn't that bad. Means colder air to rad and with the airstream in case and not hot air pumped in, should lower mobo and case temp.

    Might be the balance you are after.....watch those fingers :p
     
  2. ***F1ZZY***

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 5, 2004

    Posts: 640

    Location: Wiltshire

    Have you tried crunching on 1 core (prime, pi etc) and running games or 3mark on the other so that gfx is pumping into loop too.

    Your load temps on 2 cases pi might be lower than 1 pi with 3d stuff. Just a thought.
     
  3. Le_Petit_Lapin

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 5, 2005

    Posts: 11,742

    Location: Northern Ireland

    Ah....different radiator. My mistake.
     
  4. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    bah!

    don't say that!

    I'll give it a try.. probably all at once again (swap fans, open case and run 3dm+superpi) haven't got the patience to try each in turn!
     
  5. ***F1ZZY***

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 5, 2004

    Posts: 640

    Location: Wiltshire

    Sorry to keep you busy, but hope you appreciate my comments none-the-less!

    /edit/ I'd be very very surprised if you could detect a difference in temps with/without floppy cover - you may detect more noise from front of case though. The case is open enough plus your hole in bottom (he he) to allow air in. I'd be tempted to leave floppy cover in place for aesthetics and accoustics /edit/
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2005
  6. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    well I've finally done the pull pull, and it does seem happier.. idling at 38 on the cpu and 36 on the case...

    going to leave it overnight and if its happy then its going to its new owner and I'm on the the next project!
     
  7. Goksly

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 5, 2003

    Posts: 10,555

    Location: Nottingham

    Not too keen on the case, but the mod is great....

    good work - got some skillz there for sure :)
     
  8. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    Final update I guess...

    I ran 3d mark 05 whilst doing an 8mb prime and the cpu went up to 60 and mobo 45 which I consider to be about as full load as I need to ensure it won't overheat.. Thats overclocked to 3.3ghz and after having run several primes so the water had gotten close to its natural heat (ie I wasn't benefiting from cool water).

    I also left it on overnight and came down to find it at 41 idle cpu and 38 idle mobo, again, perfectly happy with that.

    So I guess it's done.. Stick some photos in the case and watercooled gallery and thanks for all the input/help!

    Daft ideas floating around at the moment are mounting a mac mini inside my current case.. Getting a G4 cube and putting a pc/mac mini inside it or just some normal stuff like a cpu/mobo upgrade on my current pc or making a shuttle.. I do like OSX though so it may well be mac based since I got rid of my ibook.

    One thing this has proved is I want to have 2 pcs.. I managed to diagnose a network problem the other day only because I had a "spare" pc to test things with.
     
  9. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    lol...

    a month to put it together.. 2 hours to get it in bits again.. all cleaned up and on its way to the MM for sale :rolleyes:

    paying for a move to an amd x2 4400 and 2 7800gtxs in sli :D

    another project on the way!
     
  10. Ali

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 782

    Location: Swansea

    nothing short of spectacular!

    can believe you're selling it after all that effort :eek:

    EDIT: got a Blue and White G3 case just begging for a project - lack of time and disposable income atm (hate having to eat etc)
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2005
  11. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    i like eating but hate having to pay for it! :D

    dude, i see you found that all the effort in the world cant make up for the fact the current dualcore intels are dud's

    good luck with your sale :)

    m3
     
  12. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    lol..

    not duds, it was very quick but I've given up trying to convince myself that having some ddr2/more complicated overclocking is reason enough not to switch!

    I nearly paid £500 for an fx55 about 6 months ago so the opportunity to have 2 in my pc (a 4400 generally goes to 2.5/2.6) is too good to miss.
     
  13. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    i can't even afford a 754 sempron :( and you want 2 top of the range 939 cpu's????

    *counts pennies

    nearly a grands worth of cpu's there, you planning on running both alternatly ot buying 2 boards???
     
  14. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    no you silly arse, I meant a dual core amd 64 running at 2.6ghz on each core with 1mb cache is effectively 2 fx55s stuck together :D

    even I wouldn't pay £1000 for a cpu!
     
  15. sniper007

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jan 18, 2005

    Posts: 1,110

    Nice but should have gone 1/2" ID tubing! ;)
     
  16. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    lol at my noob mistake

    missed the almost

    o well, i now get your point, is very tempting, dual fx55's