1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Measure twice cut once! (56k no!)

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by matt100, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    OK... back on topic.. we're close now! I can feel it!

    Last nights work..

    Just to prove my plan worked and it does all come to bits quite happily (although you have to take off the cpu block but I did this so I could clean it all up and reapply the as5 etc)
    [​IMG]

    and then after dremeling the hole out for the psu (I started with a case nibbler but it wasn't anywhere near accurate enough)

    [​IMG]

    Apologies for the image quality, I only ever use the camera on my w800.
     
  2. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    And from the other side...

    [​IMG]

    and then above to see just how much this psu hangs out.. (although I've made sure it doesn't hang out any further than the rad)

    [​IMG]

    The final thing I have to conent with is the fact that the psu now fouls the rad which is obviously wider than 120mm fan mounts :rolleyes: I'm probably going to redrill the holes for the rad mount.. no biggy compared to most of the issues!

    Should have the case on this weekend I reckon.. just ned to 4" uv cathodes too and I'm done! (presuming it still works)
     
  3. 4737Joker

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 22, 2004

    Posts: 1,421

    nice project, cant wait to see what clock speeds you get out of it.
     
  4. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    I did notice in the bios it'll only let me up to mem Vs to 1.95, the stuff I've got currently needs 2v to stabilise it at 600mhz, that said it is ddr2 4200, the stuff in this pc is 5300 so should be ok. I suppose I can always stick it on a divider but thats one thing I like about ddr2.. crazy crazy speeds!

    Other than that the bios looks very much like that of my p5ad2e in my current pc, all the AI overclocking stuff, thats why I was happy going for another asus.. plenty of options!

    I would imagine 3.75 would be more than achievable.. that said, just installing some stuff the other day was a revelation, no lag at all even at stock speeds and stuff where my 570J would stall (even at only 4.1ghz like it is currently due to the ambient heat).
     
  5. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    oh, I see, youve had to LOWER your clock to above 4 gig, most be well hot
     
  6. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    well its all relative isn't it.. when you start at 3.8ghz a 300mhz oc is pretty poor. In fact this chip has been a total pig, I can't get it to boot or anything past 4.3ghz (still only 500mhz).. I guess 3.8 being stock is pretty good but I certainly wouldn't have paid for it :D
     
  7. lay-z-boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 27, 2004

    Posts: 9,231

    Location: Nantwich

    ace setup you got there mat100 :)

    some amazing solutions to some of the problems you came up with in this rig

    well done indeed.
     
  8. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    cheers!

    I just finished cutting the back end of the case and it's all assembled!

    All I need to do know is remount the rad (I'm going to try extra sticky pads rather than start redrilling as it's held up by the pipes as well) refill the losses and its done!

    ra! pics tomorrow.
     
  9. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    huzzah!!!!!!!!

    good luck mate...
     
  10. Raikiri

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 5, 2005

    Posts: 17,072

    Location: Brighton

    wow, this has taken a long time but should be worth it. looks great
     
  11. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    erm...

    ta da!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  12. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    couple of lights to be added and I'm going to check out the single 120mm fan as it might need to be changed for something like a panaflo if its not up to cooling this rad.
     
  13. Captain Kirk

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 25, 2005

    Posts: 717

    Location: Derbyshire

    Nice!!!! Wish I had the patients to make something that looked that good! What are your temps like?

    Edit: and I can recommend the panaflo FBA12G12M, just knocked my temps down by about 5 degrees
     
  14. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    tbh I don't know what the temps are, haven't had chance to fully test it.
     
  15. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    theres a hint if ive ever seen one
     
  16. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    ey?

    on the subject of temps it sits at about 40 idle in the bios so I'm guessing about there for idle and as long as its under 60 load I'll be comfortable.
     
  17. m3csl2004

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 621

    Location: Sheffield

    the hint to check your temps...
     
  18. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    right,

    cpu is idling mid 40s just ran 2 superpi 1m tests and it peaked at about 55 so with a meatier fan on the rad I should be fine although I do think the extra fan is going to be a neccessity. I do also have room to fit an extra one behind the rad in a push/pull config.

    Any thoughts on that welcome..

    pic of the desk now its tidy (at last)

    [​IMG]

    edit: wayhay! 2 8mbs and it got to 65 and this rad is HOT, like hot enough to be uncomfortable to touch.

    We need some more oomf, I'm thinking 2 better fans! Still, thats the challenge!
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2005
  19. YooEntSinMeROYT

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 25, 2002

    Posts: 2,911

    Location: Location: Location

    Respect is due to matt100 :cool:

    Nice work :D
     
  20. matt100

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 31, 2004

    Posts: 11,920

    Location: Salisbury

    cheers dude!

    right.. current outstanding issues..

    1 small leak :mad: I mean small, from the same place on the rad, I wrapped a tissue round it last night and it had about 3 or 4 drops on it this morning. Frustrating but I'm not going to pull it all to bits for that, the leak point is actually outside the pc anyway so I'm just going to live with it.

    Video through kvm is awful so I'm going to disconnect the video and have one going in the dvi and one in the vga input on my monitor, plus point there is I can then do picture in picture which should be cool!

    No lighting, kind of feeling the no lighting so it might stay that way.

    Temps.. I think 45-50 idle would be a bit of a problem with air so with water I should be lower, load temps got up to 65 at the end of the 2 8mb runs last night so I was right to be concerned about the fan not being up to it, I think there might also be a potential seating issue with the wblock, going to tighten it tonight and see what happens. A 65 degree rad is an unpleasant thing. It'll actually be a heat source in the room at this rate!

    Also the temps jump around a bit.. the loading went like 45-47-43-48-49-53-50-60-55-57 etc etc.. doesn't seem right.