1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rig/Cruncher images and specs......

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Area 51, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. colinmcr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 17, 2009

    Posts: 2,410

    Location: Scotland

    Loudbob is that a monsoon bay res?
     
  2. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    It certainly is :)
     
  3. customminer

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 19, 2014

    Posts: 1

    Guess this is a good place for my first post, what do you guys think of skynet-gpu1?

    http://i.imgur.com/8O2yFU6.jpg

    Please resize picture before linking/posting. Thank you.
     
  4. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 2,923

    Location: St helens

    main pc with 4690k + amd 290 tri x along side an evga gtx 970

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    what should become a second pc , notice how it has 3 pci slots :D only an i3 with 2 x 2gb of corsair ram but its more than enough as a folding pc , infact it would be fine as a daily pc as this was my daily pc lol just lacks an SSD

    [​IMG]
     
  5. colinmcr

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Mar 17, 2009

    Posts: 2,410

    Location: Scotland

    Here's my 980ti rig Andy
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2015
  6. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 2,923

    Location: St helens

    that's is a work of art! looks brilliant colin

    oh hello whats this then

    [​IMG]
     
  7. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 818

    Location: Derbyshire

    Welcome the punisher:eek:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    I hope to god all the parts for this build work
     
  8. hanluc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,490

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    So do I, keep us informed please. :)
     
  9. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,043

    Location: Surrey

    Nice to see some big iron still being rolled out :)
     
  10. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,244

    Can't see any Haribo in the box so first guess it's from Overclockers :p
     
  11. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 818

    Location: Derbyshire

    Its all going wrong, The Punisher will not boot with more than 2 CPU's installed.
    All the CPU's work in position 1 or 2 all the ram is working but no boot beyond initialising......
    Time to contact Supermicro and talk about RMA:(
     
  12. hanluc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,490

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    Sorry to hear that :( I know how gutting it feels when it all goes wrong, esp. with expensive kit.
     
  13. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 818

    Location: Derbyshire

    Found out why she will not post:/
    The cpu's are 2890v2 not 4890v2 so not built for 4 way install.
    Contacted the seller to see what he can do.
     
  14. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 818

    Location: Derbyshire

    Have returned to cpu's and purchased some more lower spec 15 core(4870) only to be contacted by the seller and told he is sending the 4890's out to replace the ones going back.
    As a consequence I now have 8 15 core cpu's on the way:confused:
     
  15. MGP

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 24, 2004

    Posts: 2,510

    Location: Surrey

    You'd better buy another motherboard then :D
     
  16. hanluc

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 22, 2010

    Posts: 2,490

    Location: Ratae Corieltauvorum

    Are you not able to DSR the new ones you bought? or are you tempted to do what MGP said? I remember you saying how much the boards were :eek:
    I upgraded my twin Xeons and thought about selling the old ones, but ended up building another machine.
     
  17. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 818

    Location: Derbyshire

    Would love to keep them and get a board but I need to sell lots of stuff off ,the intel 4p 64 and the SR-2 have to go along with all the duel 2011 rigs.
    The boards are eyewateringly expensive and cost the same as a high end rig.
    I am also adding M.2 ssd and a 1.6tb intel ssd to the build with Titan x if I can get it working.
    Not to mention water cooling - typing it now it just seems like madness :eek:
     
  18. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,244

    Well if you are going to stick those spare chips on the Freecycle thread I call dibs :)
     
  19. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 818

    Location: Derbyshire

    Finally got a bios that works so build progressing.
    Brackets to hold the rads built and fitted.
    I got the wrong size pipe for my fittings so waiting for that to arrive and the water block mounts need trimming to miss the ram and heat sinks but nothing impossible to overcome:rolleyes:

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Jumper118

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 17, 2012

    Posts: 3,391

    Location: Leeds

    so i might have bought an asus 2011 dual socket board and i have a few e5 2670 laying around........ what is the best use of this hp?
     


Share This Page