1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rig/Cruncher images and specs......

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by Area 51, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. RiseAgainst

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 5, 2011

    Posts: 515

    7850 now in and crunching , should have a nice wee increase in scores :D
     
  2. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    Hopefully, i'll be able to add two 560 ti's and four 680's to the cause tomorrow....or Wednesday :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2012
  3. RiseAgainst

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 5, 2011

    Posts: 515

    Its taken ten minutes off each work unit for Collatz :) cant wait to see how it gets on once its clocked , these things are meant to kick ass in that department
     
  4. DoneADougalOnSofa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,158

    Location: Bath

    Pretty chuffed, I've managed to climb up the MilkyWay leaderboard with me 58xx combo.
    Currently 8th/9th place in the OCUK team on RAC. (Currently 40K).
    Not bad- most of those above me are running multiple rigs or have much better GPUs...
    May all come to a grinding halt when the leccy bill comes though!

    Team Norway next on the horizon for stompage!

    BTW, Nice rig Toxic, good effort sir...
     
  5. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  6. ToxicTBag

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 7,186

    Location: TBagTowers

    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

    Congratulations....trying to comprehend it, you must have driven yourself batty trying to get all that tubing in there.

    Open heart surgery looks less complicated its maddly different thats probably why i like it, just trying to figure out how it popped into your head to individually cool everything seperately :eek:

    All credit to you though its amazing you got it all in there and you definately met your goal that is freakishly impressive ..... mmmmm

    "Frankenrig" :D:D:D:D;)
     
  7. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,043

    Location: Surrey

    Are there five loops & five pumps?
     
  8. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    Thanks TBag

    I must admit - it was extremely difficult to fit everything inside the 800D.

    But I think the final outcome speaks for itself :D

    And the temps are a lot better than expected.
     
  9. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    That would be correct :D

    CPU & MB cooled by a 3x120mm RAD (stand alone pump and single bay res) and each GPU cooled by a 120mm RAD (fed by two dual bay res with two pumps moounted underneath on each).

    Not the most cost effective solution - but certainly a whacky one :D

    Gotta go to work now - start earning some coin for my next project ;)
     
  10. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,043

    Location: Surrey

    Can you do a shot of the inside of the drive cage where the tubing exits the pumps? :D

    And I thought mine was bad!
    [​IMG]
     
  11. RiseAgainst

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 5, 2011

    Posts: 515

    Must .. finish .. uni .. get good .. job .. to .. pay .. for .. PC stuff :D
     
  12. loudbob

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 18, 2004

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: Cumbria

    Will try and get a decent picture tonight........but it's tight in there so no promises ;)
     
  13. PhilthyPhil

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 2,663

    Location: UK

    So I just finished my first ever watercooled system :)

    Its a 2500K with 2x6990. Watercooling consists of two alphacool blocks for the graphics cards and xspc raystorm block for the cpu. 18w DDC with xspc res top and 560 rad. running nice and cool and near enough silent at about 50C. Its currently the highest rac host on Milkyway :)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. holymonk

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 12, 2011

    Posts: 1,491

    some fantastic cases here, makes me want to move into H2O :(
     
  15. ToxicTBag

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 8, 2010

    Posts: 7,186

    Location: TBagTowers

    Watercooling is not as bad as you might first think. Just take a look in the watercooling section and it'll give you a good indication of layouts and what is and is not needed.
    I never touched wc until the last 6 months or so and would not go back now, true the outlay can be a pain but you wil reap the benefits by being able to overclock further than you would on air.
    You can allways start with a simple cpu cooling loop and see where your imagination takes you, if in doubt just ask as there are a lot of people on here willing to help :)
     
  16. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 2,923

    Location: St helens

    [​IMG]
     
  17. ozaudio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 23, 2010

    Posts: 2,923

    Location: St helens

    also got my eye on a 3rd one of these cards , and it ends after i get paid so a cheeky bid wont hurt

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2012
  18. Acme

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 24,704

    Location: Broken down.

    I have a core 2 duo e8200 (which i will overclock soon), 4gb of DDR3 and an HD5450... Not the most gutsy of rigs (especially since i only want ot use 50% cpu usage on folding etc as it is doing other things too)

    Im new to this, with those specs, what do you think i should be doing? What is that program a few posts above?
     
  19. Acme

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 29, 2011

    Posts: 24,704

    Location: Broken down.

    How can i set BOINC to use 50% cpu usage instead of 100%?
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012
  20. MikeTimbers

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 6,381

    Location: New Eltham, London

    Log into your account at BOINC and set the cpu usage. It's fairly obvious once you're there. You can also do something with a file called cc_config.xml which should be in you BOINC/DATA directory. Google for cc_config.xml; it's basically a way of setting local preferences.
     


Share This Page