1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Rise of the Tomb Raider Bench Thread

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Kaapstad, Mar 12, 2016.

  1. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,529

    4x is 'only' double the res believe it or not.

    But yeah, I can't see the point enabling it for benchmarks
     
  2. AWPC

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 8, 2005

    Posts: 9,143

    Win 10 x64 DX12
    2160P
    Single GTX 980 Ti @ 1140/1753 stock clocks
    Core i7 980X @ 3.46 Ghz
    364.51 WHQL Forceware
    6GB System Ram only
    [​IMG]

    Win 10 x64 DX11
    2160P
    Single GTX 980 Ti @ 1140/1753 stock clocks
    Core i7 980X @ 3.46 Ghz
    364.51 WHQL Forceware
    6GB System Ram only
    [​IMG]

    Win 7 x64 DX11
    2160P
    Single GTX 980 Ti @ 1140/1753 stock clocks
    Core i7 980X @ 3.46 Ghz
    361.43 WHQL Forceware
    6GB System Ram only
    [​IMG]
     
  3. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 17, 2005

    Posts: 723

    Win 10 x64
    DX12
    1920x1080
    Single 980ti @ 1567 /2000
    3770K @ 4.5
    364.51 Drivers

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2016
  4. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2004

    Posts: 2,653

    Location: London

    That's a tasty Overclockers on your 980ti mate, did you have to add extra Volts for that?
     
  5. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 17, 2005

    Posts: 723

    no extra core volts

    Power limit will go to 139% out of the box.

    It will go to 1572 before signs of artifacts. Its a solid card, much better than my MSI 980Ti.
     
  6. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Using 4077Mb according to AB:

    DX12 Max settings

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,066

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Could you double check your settings please.

    Below is one of my TitanXs and a 5960X running 2160p in DX11.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,066

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Do you have the clockspeeds drivers and other info please.:)
     
  9. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,066

    Location: Dalek flagship

    For bench threads max settings are used to highlight a cards strengths and weaknesses.

    Max settings also remove as much as possible the influence the CPU has on the results.
     
  10. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Sure Kaap, it's

    DX12
    1080p
    970@1380/3506(Stock clocks)
    3770K@4.5
    364.51 Drivers
     
  11. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,066

    Location: Dalek flagship

    And on the scoreboard.:)
     
  12. harryface

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 12, 2011

    Posts: 196

    Location: Reading

    This may be a stupid question but does dx12 make it look any better?
     
  13. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 18,529

    In theory it will allow games to use more graphical effects when built from the ground up.

    But in Rise of the Tomb Raider? Not that I could see.
     
  14. Kaapstad

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 21, 2012

    Posts: 28,066

    Location: Dalek flagship

    Worse

    The image is no better but the FPS are lower in DX12.

    I wonder where all the people have gone who said DX12 would be a big leap forward in image quality.:D
     
  15. tommybhoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Mar 30, 2010

    Posts: 11,542

    Location: Under The Stairs!

    Wonder where all the people have gone that mocked Mantle!:p
     
  16. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2004

    Posts: 2,653

    Location: London

    What card it it one of the hybrids? What ASIC you got? if it's a reference card i'd be interested in the bios...
     
  17. David230

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 17, 2005

    Posts: 723

    No, its a windforce G1

    ASIC 87.6%
     
  18. BS Dave

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2004

    Posts: 2,653

    Location: London

    Ah. Mines got a similar high asic, and I have it under water, but it's just a reference card
     
  19. Ian Evey

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 4, 2009

    Posts: 2,428

    Location: Derby

    We are still here, and are just as unimpressed :p
     
  20. Gregster

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 24, 2008

    Posts: 37,659

    Location: Essex innit!

    For DX12 to shine, it needs to be inserted into the game from the off. What we have seen so far is just wrappers and not really benefiting. AoTS is probably the best example of DX12 I have seen and even then I get more frames on DX11, so pass lol.